We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable 3 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable 3 night break”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel, serving good food. The bedrooms are very spacious although the furniture perhaps needs replacement. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the railway and bus station and is central to the shops and restaurants of Wexford. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaysForGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    480
    248
    117
    75
See reviews for
316
625
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Whites on 8th and 9th of November. Overall I thought the hotel was lovely, however I noticed a few things that could be improved... We booked a 'double' room which was 2 single beds pushed together. Didn't like that as beds came apart, and for a romantic couple of nights away it was disappointing. Also the bathroom (shower only) was quite basic. Seems like they are scrimping on little touches like individual hand soap, shampoo etc... There are dispensers instead which is a bit cheap looking. In saying that the room was clean and it had good black out curtains for a decent sleep. Also lots of tea/coffee/ milk supplied which is great cause there usually isn't enough.The room had a view of the court yard which is nice but the design of the courtyard is a bit all over the place (potted plants plotted randomly). We had breakfast both mornings and it was very good. Overall our stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If a couple ask for a double bed not too singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie-Ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I checked into this hotel for a two night stay, attending one meeting at the hotel and another meeting nearby. I found the reception staff very welcoming and a very nice gentleman helped me to my room with my luggage. The room was very spacious and warm with a great bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The leisure center was very nice with very helpful staff and the facilities were very clean.Breakfast could have been hotter on both mornings and the coffee was not great but once I brought this to the attention of the staff they were very prompt in replacing the items for me. I ate in the hotel on one evening and found the meals on offer very varied and well priced and the service staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not select a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieDshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I visited Whites again in October, my third visit. It is still the best hotel in Wexford Town in my opinion. Rooms are very clean & spacious although I don't really like wet room bathrooms. On the first night of a 3 day visit our tv wouldnt work properly but within 5 minutes of my speaking to reception they had someone up to the room and the TV working, great customer service as usual! Breakfast has everything and more you could need to set you up for the day. The hotel is perfectly situated in middle of Wexford Town, just cut through the hotel and out to the main street.
The bar is very comfortable with good entertainment at the weekend but unfortunately I didnt like the bar food, like a previous reviewer I feel it could do with changing a little. I personally found the soup quite bland and the chips seemed to have been reheated at least twice, they were like bricks, icecream for dessert was very icy. Although the girl that served us was very helpful and friendly.
We did also have a meal in the restaurant and the food there was gorgeous, steak was perfect as were all the accompanying vegetables and desserts.
Pool and Spa area were absolutely brilliant, best out of any of the hotels I have been too in Ireland.
I found the Whites staff to be extremely helpful, efficient and friendly at all times which makes all the difference. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalieflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Usually stay in Whites when in Wexford with the kids. This time however it was just myself and the Hubby. I like Whites, it's a good dependable hotel and a very relaxed one with great location in Wexford Town. They never mind d kids running about the place and it's a must for families. Usually d food is good however on my last visit the meal we had was poor but we were refunded for one of our meals which took the sting out of it. I do think they need to change d bar menu a bit and put some healthier food for kids up on it. Other than that it's a great hotel and I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caltris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have stayed at one other Whites hotel and were very disappointed so we were not sure what to exspect, we did not book the hotel, we went with our Active retirement group, this Hotel had , had a major refurbishment have had a fire two years ago, I must say that we were very pleasently surprized, the standard of the hotel was very high, the room were very comrotable and the staff very helpful at all times and we had a most enyorable stay

Room Tip: the town is quite near but might be a bit hard to get to if you have walking difficultys or pushing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satincape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As every year I was going for a few days for the festival staying at the White's. This time I was on the 5th floor that gave a wonderful panoramic view of Wexford, the room is nice and spacious and the possibility to use the swimming pool and the gym is a wonderful extra.

Room Tip: Ask the top floors for panoramic view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,774 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
414 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
820 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Property: Clayton Whites Hotel
Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing