We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by STAFF”
Review of Taste Restaurant - CLOSED

Taste Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Let down by STAFF”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We attended this restaurant last Saturday night our reservation was for 8PM when we arrived and the table was not ready so we took a set in the waiting area, eventually after ten minutes we got seated. The restaurant was not full but yet the staff appeared frazzled and disorganized. We received the menu and had more than sufficient time to look at it. No member of staff asked if we would like a drink. Several staff members were asked by one of the party, who had brought his own beer, for a pint glass with ice, four times in fact!!!, eventually someone returned to say they had no ice and obviously no glass. They resorted to using a wine glass rather than ask for a glass for a fifth time.

Eventually a member of staff returned to take our order. We ordered one bottle of white wine and a bottle of Merlot from the wine menu, the girl returned with the wine and then asked were we happy to pour it our self??? she informed us that that was all she had, a bottle of house red! when we ordered subsequent bottles we discovered a Merlot.!! We waited at least 30 minutes before starter and had to ask for some bread as the party were beginning to be getting very hungry!!.

On the plus side the food was very tasty with multiple flavors and beautifully laid plates. Such a shame that the staff were so poor lets the restaurant down badly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loughderravaragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    5
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My Husband and I had a meal in this restaurant last week, and I am feeling a bit guilty about giving it just an average score, but some things were right and other things were very wrong so to be fair I will just give you our experience and you can make your own mind up.....
We had an early table booked for 6pm and were one of the first to arrive in the restaurant, on arrival we were very warmly greeted by the Lady who was going to wait on our table, she was very nice and let us pick our table ourselves, but The Restaurant was very cold, and as it was a very cold night this did impact on our overall enjoyment of the meal.
We were given the menu and everything was explained to us ie. house specials and what we had to pay a subsidy on and so forth, gave our order and sat having a glass of wine while we waited, and waited for our starters... when they arrived they were very nice and we had no complaints about the food, then another long wait for our main course, this was unacceptable as it was more than half an hour by which time I was frozen solid and had put my coat back on. that said the food again was lovely and the lady serving us was so friendly and helpfull but in the end we left without dessert as we were too cold to enjoy it

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“meal with friends”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

service was bad, but 2 course voucher meal was lovely, small portions, could have eaten more, but very nice. a few complaints from around the table as food could have been better, but none from me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joejewison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spoilt for choice”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband booked Taste for our silver anniversary and it was absloutley fantastic. The food was, as always delectable and the young lady who served us was friendly,bubbly and not overly shocked by the baloon incident! What we love most about this fine establishment, after the food is its friendly,relaxed atmosphere. My recommendation is to take time to enjoy the fantastic food and friendly staff in Taste.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyandpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Dined at Taste early on Saturday evening. We were shown promptly to our table and given the menu and wine list. Although the restaurant was fairly quiet at 6.30 (about 8 other diners) there was a longish delay between ordering and receiving our starters but when they came they were certainly worth the wait. They were both absolutely delicious.
Due to a slight confusion over what exactly the catch of the day was there was a further slight delay before the mains were cooked and served. Again, both mains (one turkey in filo pastry, one Sea Bass) were mouthwatering and again worth the wait while they were prepared. Food was beautifully presented, freshly prepared and served hot and the texture and flavour of everything was just perfect.
We wouldn't normally have deserts but the starters and mains were so good we wanted to continue the experience. We both ordered apple and winter berry crumble and both found them superb.
I overheard some other diners nearby paying their bills and they too were very enthusiastic about what they had eaten. By the time we left, the restaurant was practically full and everybody seemed to be enjoying their meals just as we had done.
In summary, excellent food at reasonable prices. We had never been before but we will certainly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Restaurant also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing