We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yard

The Yard
Ranked #3 of 132 Restaurants in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under the guidance of Mary Codd, Manager and Peter Murphy, Head Chef, the Yard Restaurant has gone from strength to strength since opening in October 2006. The most excellent food together with the best wines provides a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The Yard is ideally located in the heart of Wexford town and just a stone throw from the best shopping, bars and clubs in the town.
Carlow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

delicious food and lovely staff. fillet of steak was beautiful. the building itself was very intimate

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Declan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    140
    30
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best waiter!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hi, everything about our visit to the Yard was excellent but it was the waiter who really made our visit special. He was BRILLIANT. One of these people who comes to to the table exactly when you want with the information that you want, he was lovely. He heard us commenting on one of the brilliant breads and brought us more etc etc etc.
Food was brilliant, duck salad starter and monkfish main were lovely, desserts were different, very nice but not as good as other courses. Lovely atmosphere, the courtyard would let you dream you were in Italy!! Overall a brilliant meal..

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanbobjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great fresh food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Enjoyed the food which has been always of excellent quality the few times I have eaten here. Always seems good value for money especially for the early bird or lunch menu. (I love the fresh cod and mushy peas!)

Staff are very friendly and know about the food. Only down side for me is the noise in the restaurant especially if busy. The lack of soft furnishings means the sound echoes around and can be a bit much. Would def avoid the saturday rush. Mid week seems much more relaxed.

Will go back but will just choose my day more carefully. Has done a lot to raise food quality in the town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went to the yard with friends and family who had been visiting for a family party the night before. there were 9 of us and we were really disappointed with the waitress serving our table. she quite obviously didn't want to be there and made us feel as if we were being inconvienent just by being there. the food was ok but to be honest the attitude from the waitress had put us all in bad form and we didn't enjoy our meal. our bill was quite expensive and in this day and age i thought restaurants would be delighted with such a large group for lunch. it's not a child friendly restaurant. we were all very disappointed by the experience and we won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clare79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Freash food, great service. a buzz about the place.

Helpful?
Thank Joe849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yard also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to The Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing