We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enduring Excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rosslare
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enduring Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I returned to Kelly's this August after a long absence. It was wonderful, better even than I remembered. The service is of the highest standard, the choice of food and wines is extensive and of excellent quality. The spa was new to me and compares very favourably with the best in Europe and U.S.A.
I was travelling with my husband and we thoroughly enjoyed the Kelly experience. It is very good value considering that there are no hidden costs and all meals ,including afternoon tea,are included. We will certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear AFF29,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor.

It is always a great pleasure to see people returning after a few years absence. It gives us confidence that we are providing good customer care and service, which is our priority.

I will pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team and Seaspa. They will be delighted by your comments. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back next year, in the meantime take it easy.

With good wishes.
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    138
    69
    15
    6
See reviews for
401
249
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

If its a relaxing holiday you want, this is a great place to go.

By relaxing I mean no site seeing, just lounging about, going to the beach, swimming in the pool, eating the delicious food, taking part in some of the organised games, really you don't have to leave the hotel.

It the weather is good, this place really is great.

If you want to go somewhere different and exciting, don't go to Kellys, if you need a break and want pure relaxation, this is the place to come.

If I had the time and money, Kellys is the holiday I would take to recover from the previous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mark H,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you had an relaxing break at Kelly's.

We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities, food and more importantly that my team looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, I make sure to keep the excellent Sunny South East weather for you!

Kind regards
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived at 12 30pm to be told our room was not ready which we already knew. We found the receptionist not very friendly. We were not given any information on the hotel facility's. We also asked could we reserve a table in the restaurant and to be told there was no reservations of tables yet when we went to the dining room there was tables reserved on all three nights also we were led to believe that was a dress policy in the dining room. My husband was the only one wearing a jacket. Once our order was taking the speed on which our food came at was to quick for our liking. One would wonder is the food all per cooked and heated before service. The food was just ok nothing to brag about. Unfortunately we had a room over the main entrance wich was very noisy as we had to leave the window open because there was no ventilation in the room. We stayed in an other hotel in the north midlands which is far superior to your hotel for half the price. We expected a lot more for the price we paid. Beware of the service charge don't charge anything to your room

Room Tip: Request one looking over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear RCLIN,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, although we were most upset and disappointed to hear that Kelly’s did not live up to your expectations during your recent visit.

Our sincere apologies for the poor reception you received on arrival, this is certainly not the standards we set ourselves. I do agree your check-in should have been handled with more care and attention. We normally have a special note on first time customers bookings, unfortunately this was not done and hence the lack of information. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in any of our bedrooms, normally the Irish weather does not justify it! We have some mobile units that we could have used on this occasion, my apologies this was not arranged for you.

We do ask for jacket and smart dress for Dinner, with the warm July weather it was difficult to implement this summer. I appreciate your comments regarding the speed of service and regret that the service was too quick for you, I will speak to all the team regarding this issue. We have a team of 22 chefs in the kitchen and all food is prepared to order.

As we are a Resort hotel, the hotel operates a 10% service charge which we highlight in all promotional material. The service goes directly to the staff and saves our guests carrying cash around and it is in general understood by our guests, this has been in operation for over 70 years in the hotel. I apologise if this was not explained to you.

We regret that we did not live up to your expectations and at this stage can only sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope you will give us the chance at some future date to redeem ourselves, please contact me personally and I will assure you of my personal care and attention.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us as we need every now and again to be kept on our toes and keep up the good name of Kelly’s Resort Hotel.

With good wishes.

Bill Kelly
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are always very happy and will return again and again. Staff always friendly and so helpful.
Great location by the beach.
One small thing: The crispy potato wedges need to be cooked more and made crispy.
I will still rate it excellent as this is just a small attention to detail.

Room Tip: The spa is brill!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oct1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sive52,

Thank you so much for your very kind letter on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kelly’s and that the Hotel once again lived up to your expectation.

I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team in Seaspa and the chefs. It will certainly boost their morale at the end of a busy summer season. I have mentioned your comments on the potato wedges to the chef, he will keep an eye on them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and special needs son in July.What can I say we were treated like kings,I have never experienced such care and attention.The room was lovely and comfortable.The food was excellent and any amount with breakfast,lunch,afternoon tea and dinner.We strolled on the beach after dinner and it was so peaceful.I could not fault this hotel but I would have liked the music in the evening to be a little bit more upbeat and not geared towards an older audience.This is a great hotel for families and couples.Every night the owner came into the restaurant and spoke to the guests.He was very hands on and maybe this was the secret to the hotels success.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sive52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, General Manager at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Fredcork,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kelly's Resort.

You are correct in your analysis of the hotel bedrooms, we do have many different types, although we have refurbished them all to a similar standard in the last few years. Just a dozen more to do this winter! The bedrooms are not allocated by some mysterious criteria, we always offer clients priority for the same room if they return at the same time each year, after that it is first come first served!

We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities, food and more importantly that the team looked after you well, I will pass on your kind comments to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wishing you and your family a happy festive season.

Kind regards
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to dine at kelly's on a recommendation from a friend at 5.10pm we were told no food from 5 to 6.30pm very surprised a top hotel would close it's kitchen for an hour and a half in peak season mid-august.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, we regret that we were closed for food in the Bistro during your visit. It is always a dilemma for us as we need to prepare for the evening service in the kitchen and I am not a fan of having diners in the Bar while guests are arriving for pre- dinner drinks.

Sorry to disappoint you on this occasion. Hopefully we will see you again at some future date.

Kind regards,

Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoyed it so much once again we have booked to return in September with some friends and family. The food, facilities and staff were excellent, we have travelled quite a bit and overall this is the best hotel we have stayed in, as I said in my last review "it is very hard to beat".

We bought the Book of Kellys which the owner Bill Kelly very kindly signed for us, it is a very good read and with lots of good pictures and interesting facts. We wish the owner and his family well in continuing to provide first class facilities for his guests for us and future generations to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 126tonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkellyRosslare, Owner at Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Tony H,

Thank you so much for your very kind letter on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kelly’s and that the Hotel once again lived up to your expectation.

I will certainly pass on your compliments to all the staff. It will certainly boost their morale at the end of a busy summer season. Thank you for your kind comments on the Book of Kelly's and future generations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Bill Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosslare
5.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
5.1 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Rosslare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895 the Kelly Family has personally overseen this truly fine beach side resort hotel. Locally produced food, specially selected wines and nightly entertainment are very much part of the tradition as well as tennis, snooker, bowls, croquet and a choice of local championship golf links. Pamper yourself and relax in our luxurious SeaSpa, incorporating thermal spa, 12 treatment rooms, seaweed bath and serial Mud Chamber. Focus on health and well-being in our Aqua Club and gym or come for our special activity midweek breaks in Spring and Autumn. Voted "Hotel of the Year 2011" Georgina Campbell Guide and Hospitality Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly`s Hotel Rosslare
Kelly`s Resort Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing