We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsberg do not do B&Bs, but if they did .......”
Review of Clifford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifford House
Ranked #1 of 16 Rosslare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Some B&Bs have great locations, some are wonderful properties and some offer great hospitality. Clifford House has it all including a great full Irish breakfast in a breakfast room with breath taking views.
From the moment we arrived we knew that this was not a normal B&B, the gardens and various pieces of sculpture carefully placed gave an indication of what was to come. We received a warm welcome from Margaret, tea, homemade banana cake and homemade biscuits soon followed. The lounge overlooks the cliffs and sea with Tuskar Rock lighthouse clearly viable on the horizon. A telescope is provided for closer views of the rock and the various birds on the cliffs and beach below. The house is beautifully decorated with many interesting pictures and a photo history of the development of Clifford House.
Margaret told us that as we were staying for three nights we had been given the suite at no extra costs. The room was excellent with furnishing and decorations to a very high standard. The views out to sea and along the cliffs were stunning.
Being so close to Rosslare ferry terminal I can imagine that most guests use Clifford House as a stopover either before or after a ferry crossing. Those that do miss out on a wealth of places to visit. The totally unspoilt beaches nearby, the Harbour at Carna, Lady`s Island lake, Kilmore Quay, Johnstown Castle, Tacumshin Windmill, St Helens beach, golf course and many more places within a very short drive or a longer walk along the cliff top and beach paths that are adjacent to the house. The bustling historic town of Wexford with its many places to eat is about a twenty minute drive. Wexford is an old Viking Town and well worth a visit.
In short Clifford House is an outstanding place to stay. It’s not like staying at a B&B it’s more like being a house guest of a friend. It ticks all the boxes. It is an ideal base to explore parts of County Wexford that most people miss as they speed away from the ferries. Great for walkers and birdwatchers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 has outstanding views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffordhouse, Owner at Clifford House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review.. it is much appreciated... Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Clifford House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

This B&B is absolutely perfect, Stunning views across the sea, beautiful gardens and first class accommodation. The host, Margaret is lovely and can't do enough for you. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the breakfast is marvellous. Will definitely stay there again. Just a few minutes from Rosslare Ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Room 2 has great views and a large room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in early August 2013 at this delightful B & B, in a lovely double suite overlooking the harbour. The room was spacious and clean and the owner, Margaret, warm and welcoming. She brought a pot of tea and home made baking out to a sunny spot in the garden, and filled us in on the sights to see in the surrounding area. There was a cooked breakfast provided as well as the usual cereals, fruit, juices. We would have liked to have stayed for much longer, and hope to return sometime.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Clifford House for one night on 13th May 2012 as we had to catch an early ferry back to the UK. The b and b is a beautiful house overlooking the sea and the harbour at Rosslare.
Margaret, the owner, welcomed us in the lounge with coffee and biscuits and explained about the local area and offered suggestions of where to eat that night. Our room was lovely with a fireplace and a great view of quite a rough sea out the window.We were hoping it was going to calm down before we sailed the next morning!
Margaret is obviously used to her guests getting up early for the ferry as it was no trouble to get an early breakfast and arrive at our ferry on time. I would highly recommend Clifford House as an excellent place to stay, particularly if you are catching a ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clifford House was an excellent B&B. Kind hosts, great views, clean rooms and spacious guest lounge, hearty breakfasts. Our hosts Margaret and Michael were welcoming and very kind. This is a great place to stay if you're coming from or going to the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonoandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed here with our 3 children in the beautiful family room. Margaret made us feel at home, brought us a lovely tea, & advised us on where to walk, eat, and find a playground. My children have asked to go back during our entire week in Ireland. We felt completely at home, and wish we'd spent our whole holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place, the views are breath-taking, the rooms are really lovely, comfortable and spotless and the welcome is great. Our host Margaret welcomed us with tea and homemade cakes when we arrived. This is not just somewhere to stay prior to taking the nearby ferry, this is a place to stay in its own right. We went to a well known hotel for dinner & Margaret arranged for the taxi & could not have been more helpful about the local amenities, of which there are many, including the South Wexford Coastal path that runs by the top of their enchanting garden. Give yourself a treat and go and visit for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosslare hotels
6.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ferryport House
Ferryport House
#6 of 16 in Rosslare
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crannys B&B
Crannys B&B
#5 of 16 in Rosslare
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford House

Address: ROSSLARE HARBOUR | CO. WEXFORD, Rosslare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rosslare
Price Range: $82 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifford House was built in 1898 as a Victorian summer house set in beautiful landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea.. The house is family run and has a lovely relaxed ambiance as you arrive. It has undergone extensive refurbishment to an exceptionally high standard. . The owners Michéal and Margaret have sympathetically combined the traditional old-world style of the house with the very latest in quality and design, providing guests with a unique blend of comfort and style in one of the most beautiful corners of South East Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing