We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B!”
Review of Clifford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifford House
Ranked #1 of 16 Rosslare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great B&B!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Clifford House at the start and finish of a holiday in south west Ireland. It is conveniently close to the port. We received a warm welcome on arrival, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable, and the full Irish breakfast is superb. The outlook from Clifford House is a wonderful seascape and well worth spending time on. I have no reservation in recommending this B & B.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

You couldn't find a nicer spot in Rosslare than this to stay. The room was lovely and big and we had views over the ocean from both corner windows. We had breakfast overlooking the sunrise over the sea - lovely!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clifford House is a secluded gem. More than just a stop-over, it is in a prime spot overlooking the sea, the views from the various rooms and across the well stocked, beautifully kept, corourful gardens, spectacular. The welcome was very warm and friendly, the bedrooms very comfortable, tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard as was the rest of the house with lots of interesting artifacts and books dotted around. Breakfast was substantial with a wide choice. Your every need is catered for here. Perfection!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. A beautiful and interesting house set in its own grounds with plenty of parking space; very comfortable and well equipped rooms; lovely gardens and sea views. Worth making a telephone booking for a single room (credit card details will confirm booking, but you pay by cash). Two very comfortable sitting rooms for guests. Margaret was very friendly - tea and cake on arrival, and a delicious cooked breakast.This is an excellent place to stay for ferry connections but really merits a longer stay if you have time. As a regular traveller on the Fishguard - Rosslare route, I look forward to staying here again, now that I;'ve discovered it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morningtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Like other reviewers we stayed here the night before we tool the ferry but I have to say this place warrants more than a fleeting visit. With a wonderful host and fatanstic views you could easilly relax here for a few days. The room was comfortable, recently refurbished and immaculately clean and we both got a peaceful nights sleep.

It was out first time taking the ferry and Margaret was there to let us know what time we needed to get to the port, all of a 2 minute drive.

The breakfast was excellent. Hot and freshly prepared.

Clifford House itself has been in the host's family for years. I always love a place with a bit of history but I'm not telling. You'll just have to visit yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susy_mc_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic place to stay

The most friendly of hosts - a beautiful building with fantastic rooms and a wonderful breakfast

Look no further if you are looking for a B&B near to the Rosslare ferry or even for a weeks holiday --- this place should be 5 plus stars

The views out over the sea are fantastic and the beach walks are right to hand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolBigRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stopped here for one night waiting for the Ferry back to Pembroke. Excellent situation and views to die for. Margaret was very welcoming and the opportunity to sit in the garden and the reading room and enjoy the late evening sun was very relaxing. Good local restaurants to chose from, some within walking distance.
We did find the room somewhat basic and it was exceptionally noisy during the night, both with youngsters upstairs falling out of bed directly above us, and lots of banging doors.
However, for an overnight stop either on or off the ferry, it couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was very good and even with drizzle coming down, the views from the dining room were excellent.

Room Tip: It may be that if possible getting the room at the end of the house would avoid the noise of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthelbraeTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosslare
6.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.5 mi away
Ferryport House
Ferryport House
#6 of 16 in Rosslare
96 reviews
3.6 mi away
Archways
Archways
#1 of 3 in Tagoat
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford House

Property: Clifford House
Address: ROSSLARE HARBOUR | CO. WEXFORD, Rosslare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rosslare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifford House was built in 1898 as a Victorian summer house set in beautiful landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea.. The house is family run and has a lovely relaxed ambiance as you arrive. It has undergone extensive refurbishment to an exceptionally high standard. . The owners Michéal and Margaret have sympathetically combined the traditional old-world style of the house with the very latest in quality and design, providing guests with a unique blend of comfort and style in one of the most beautiful corners of South East Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing