We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay (and VERY New Age, indeed!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creacon Wellness Retreat
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Creacon Lodge is an impeccably clean and well-run facility located in a lovely, peaceful setting and run by extremely welcoming and friendly staff. My spa treatment was top notch; much better than those I've had at 5-Star Resorts. And it was so warm! Which is saying something, for those familiar with retreat centers in Ireland and the U.K.

Despite this, I give the centre an 'average' rating because -- as someone who is not a disciple of Derek's (the lodge's owner/guru) -- it was simply a bit over-the-top for me. As a seasoned meditator, I found the meditation hall overwhelming; more sensory overload than the relaxed meditative environment I had hoped for. Upon entering the hall to your left is a buddha statue flanked on one side by a picture of Merlin and on the other side by a drawing of a hooded man who I assume was an avatar of sorts -- (i.e., a being that certain New Age philosophies believe have superhuman qualities, this includes Jesus). Throughout the hall you find various idols and pictures of Jesus, angels, many Indian gurus, a large photo of Michael Jackson, photos of Derek and his wife as gurus themselves, and much much more. I found it cluttered and confusing, but that is just my perception, of course. I prefer a more simple meditation hall.

By no means did anyone apply any pressure to 'convert' us to the Prema Agni belief system that Derek has developed. It was VERY relaxed in that regard. But throughout the lodge were quite a few icons and idols of Derek himself, such as paperweights with Derek's face etched onto them. This gave me some pause and made me wonder if he is a cult figure, but 'the internet' shows he has helped many people, which is wonderful.

All in all, Creacon Lodge is quite well run by a lovely staff, but the mixture of religions/icons can be a bit overwhelming for some. For those looking for a more neutral meditative environment, Creacon Lodge is not it, in my opinion. For those intrigued by New Age philosophies, this IS it! I don't think you'll be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveling309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your sparkling review and we are glad you enjoyed your peaceful stay and our services. It is great to read that you found great value and personal benefit in your treatments as well. We strive to make everyone's visit relaxing and comfortable. Thank you for your honesty about our Meditation Hall and we welcome you to return when you need a recharge and to unwind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I partook in lunch today, purchased through Groupon. We both had potato & leek soup for starters which was beautiful and very well received on a very cold day. The ambience of Creacon is unique , very tranquil and the staff very welcoming and warm. We then had a toasted sandwich and bruschetta which were both very tasty. Highly recommend the peppermint tea made with mint grown at Creacon! Desserts too were divine - an apple & cinamon muffin and chocolate biscuit/cookie cheesecake. The whole experience was peaceful and lunch was divine. Highly recommend. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Jonathan and Marcela.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherimc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your rave review of Creacon's lunch. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed every course including our homegrown peppermint tea :) What is more exciting is that our new and improved cafe format is launching next week complete with more options, various salads, and a bounty of gourmet and homemade treats. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and it was just so relaxing! The staff are welcoming and very very friendly from the minute we arrived to the end the healing treatments were amazing! The house is so warm and cosy you just would not want to leave this place it's so full of love and energy can't wait to return again soon and would recommend it to everyone go there for the lovely experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you, Grace, for your stellar review and kind words of Creacon Lodge Wellnes Centre. It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything!
Warmest,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

i stayed in creacon lodge around the end of november for 1 night, i have nothing but happy memories of my visit here. i found everybody so welcoming from jonathon the manager, to all the other people i met there. i met derek as well what amazing person he is helping others. i love the garden so peaceful. i also felt so much healing from everyone. i cant recommend this place highly enough, you wont be disapointed. i will be back soon.

Room Tip: i was given a room on the ground, and it was quiet. i guess i would suggest that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acd124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you Kieran for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you join us and from your review sounds like you enjoyed everything. Thanks for sharing your review and we look forward to your return visit.
Warmest,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love Creacon Lodge! I always feel refreshed after a stay. The accomodations are warm and cozy while the food is sheer delight. The spa treatments and transformational therapies are amazing!! The grounds & gardens are Ireland's finest beauty. I highly recommend continual visits for recharging!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, Donna. It was great to have you visit during the holiday time and it is good to know you feel refreshed when you stay with us, finding your peace and relaxation. Thank you for your kind words - we do aim to provide a serene environment and fantastic therapies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

In no way overpowering, simply enveloping you with love, warmth and a sense of belonging Creacon Lodge is everything you would expect it to be but because it is so, so special it is nothing like you think it's supposed to be!!! I can't wait for my return!!!

Room Tip: Every room is more welcoming than the last!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renegadeskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to your return. It is so great that you are sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next year!

Warmest,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Haven or heaven? Creacon is both and much more! A place to go to recharge your batteries, find that inner peace and reconnect with yourself. Creacon is set in the beautiful Irish countryside, amongst rolling green hills and with its own extensive gardens. A warm welcome awaits you from the friendly staff. Delicious meals catering for all tastes are served. Guests are encouraged to try out the many different therapies or to simply relax and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of Creacon. I will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreaconLodgeCentre, Manager at Creacon Wellness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you Evelyn for your review of Creacon Lodge and we are glad you will be returning to recharge your batteries and destress. We enjoy providing our haven or heaven to you and appreciate your high regards for our establishment. We will see you next month!

Warmest,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Ross hotels
1.8 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
701 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenbarry B&B
Glenbarry B&B
#1 of 8 in New Ross
56 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaufort House B&B
Beaufort House B&B
#3 of 8 in New Ross
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rosville House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Carbery Guest House
Carbery Guest House
#7 of 8 in New Ross
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#5 of 8 in New Ross
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creacon Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creacon Wellness Retreat

Address: Lower Creaken, New Ross Y34 NH61, Ireland (Formerly Creacon Lodge Wellness Centre)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in New Ross
Price Range: $327 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creacon Wellness Retreat is an oasis of healing and rejuvenation, nestled in the majestic green hills of southern Ireland. Here, you will get in touch with who you really are, beyond the stress and illusion of everyday life. Pamper yourself with healing and relaxation services, insightful classes, go deep within in our Meditation Hall, or detoxify in the Infrared Sauna. We offer a range of therapies for your spirit, mind, and body - whatever you are searching for - we can provide some options. This safe haven welcomes all in search of nurturing themselves and provides a serene environment where our guests can gain clarity or new perspectives on their life. Creacon offer a variety of packages including Detox Juice Cleanse and Yoga or Mindfulness Meditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Creacon Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing