We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Uphill to Hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brandon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Tallaght Dublin24
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Uphill to Hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having been to this hotel 3 times in the past,we had an idea of what service to expect.Till now my rating would have been 4 star but as TripAdvisor doesn't give half stars I downgraded you to 3 star.Once you have a car it is a very central location for several visitor attractions.The reception staff very helpful,Library Bar at times not enough staff so left waiting and then we had incorrect food served and had a further wait.When we complained we did get apology and redress but that's not the same as getting the experience you set out to get and pay for.We also had a heating issue in our room which was settled by giving us a convector heater.I applaud the efforts being made with environmental issues being tackled but not to the disadvantage of your guests. Both Gary, and Monica did a lot to resolve our issues but unfortunately didn't succeed fully. We had one meal in The Restaurant where Monica attended to our every needs she was attentitive without being overbearing,well done.We do hope to return in the future when we look forward to redressing your star rating.Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallaghtmancu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    186
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
160
198
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just back from a very nice weekend staying at the Brandon.
The staff are amazing and no request seems to much for them, the hotel itself is charming with a nice mix of the old and new - the open fireplace in reception and the Library Bar are a nice place to relax after a day exploring the area (highly recommended) and the numerous pieces of art throughout the hotel are a very nice touch.
The Bar and Restaurant are top class, the food is amazing and they have a very decent wine list.
The rooms are spacious with daily housekeeping (towel changes etc) and the bed's very comfortable and big.
The Leisure Centre on site was a nice surprise, a decent pool, steam room, gym etc.
We didnt try the spa, but did have a look inside and I must say it's very well presented - something for our next visit here.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore this area, it's perfect for couples and families alike and they are sure to make you feel welcome whatever the purpose of your stay - would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maestro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The website makes this hotel look like its in acres of rolling land but its not. Nice, but not a country getaway. The breakfast is very tasty and the staff are lovely.

The spa costs money though which is surprising.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LioDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had recent visit for family event. Our room was standard double and was fine except for some cleanliness issues. Unfortunately our sleep was interrupted by a stupid guest smoking in the room which caused alarms to go off . The restaurant was excellent and food was very well presented. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Some areas of the hotel could do with a makeover

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DUCKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had the most enjoyable two night stay st this hotel. Food in restaurant and bar was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and very child orientated. Pools and spa were top quality. Only tiny downside was the walk from hotel to town. With buggy only option was to walk the driveway , ok going into town on the way back it's all up up and up a windy slope of a driveway with no path.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very spacious like a mini suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I availed of a Groupon deal a few weeks back as we needed a couple of nights break. We were welcomed at reception by smiling faces and prompt attention and allocated our room which was very spacious, spotless, a fine size with a nice big double bed and a single bed if I was in the doghouse (which I wasn't thankfully!).

Our package included one evening meal which was of a very high standard, very nicely presented and extremely tasty. While there was a wedding on at the hotel both nights, we didn't find this intrusive or off-putting and I was very impressed with the staff's professionalism at the bar which was packed both nights.

One small complaint, the batteries in the TV remote ran flat and I requested fresh ones. I got a prompt response and 4 batteries, but they were clearly old and unsuprisingly didn't work either but it's not like we were glued to the TV either for our stay, but fresh batteries should be readily available.

But overall, we very much enjoyed the Brandon House Hotel, there's ample parking, it's within short taxi hop to the town, but if you decide to walk, be prepared for an uphill walk from the gates of the hotel to the door, not easy if you're tired and tipsy! But it's a very fine hotel and I would return there if required.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966DUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I decided to treat myself to a spa treatment at Brandon House Hotel NEW ROSS CO. WEXFORD. I was not dissapointed . What a beautiful building. I decided to try the exotic delight wow. It was just fab my skin felt so fresh afterwards. The lime and ginger salt scrub was just out of this world. This was followed by a massage , scalp , and foot treatment . Very good but just a couple of things i didn't quite enjoy. The robe was grey and quite thin due i assume to constant washing. The fan heater in the treatment room kept cutting in and out, the sound of wer wer was just to much to totaly relax and then while the girl who was giving me my treatment was a lovely girl and very good at her job but her shoes again made noise so you could hear her move in and out of the treatment room. Manager could staff have slippers ?. I just love the peace and quite in a treatment room. Also lose the fan heater please. All in all i enjoyed my day and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
19.2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
4.6 mi away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Property: Brandon House Hotel
Address: South Knock, New Ross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing