We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brandon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My friend and I came across Brandon House by chance. At first we thought it would be out of our price range and were surprised by how reasonably priced it was. We had a great room, fantastic hospitality and found time to use the spa services. What a find!! I would love to return to Brandon House and stay a bit longer and explore its surrounds. Overall, a great hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    221
    82
    25
    13
See reviews for
191
255
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin republic of ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Could not fault this hotel the staff could not be more professional .the food in the restaurant and bar was very good the beds were so comfortable all round I could find no fault And will return

Room Tip: Standard rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here for a fri and Sat night. apart from the fact that it is a wedding hotel with a wedding both nights we were there, it was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was grand and the bed was huge and very comfortabe.The leisure center is a bit dated but the pool and facilities were all fine. Had dinner as part of our stay on the saurday night in the hotel resturant and this was very good. Breakfast as well was good witha wide selection. Overall a very good base for people to explore the south of Wexford.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

2nd time at this hotel in 2 years. Got a great deal over the phone. With 4 kids under 8 we were given a fine big family room with a queen bed for us and 3 singles and a cot.

The Kids Club is very good and is for 2 or more hours each morning and 4 hours or more each evening. Swimming, games in the morning and evenings same again and movie night etc - staff in leisure centre who look after the kids are great.

Nice walk through the grounds. Meals are well priced and good choice for the kids not just nuggets and chips ! Breakfast is great and fills you up for the day ahead. Secret Valley Farm in Clonroche is a short drive away and kids loved it there. Beaches nearby , Dunbrody ship , JFK gardens, and Hoot lighthouse also a great experience for the kids !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great hotel at a reasonable price.
Immaculately clean, which was noticable from the minute we stepped inside.
Breakfast was excellent...(good choice of hot and cold food), with attentive staff and no delay in bringing tea/coffee toast etc. Dining room was bright, warm and interesting with many works of art on display. Dinner in the bar was very enjoyable, with good menu and keen price.
Staff throughout were excellenr but in particularly at reception. I observed one young female receptiomist requesting vinegar and other products from the kitchen staff, to relieve a child from a wasp sting. All were good humoured and relaxed.
No tiome to visit the leisure centre/spa...unfortunately as it looked great.
Definitely a hotel to visit if in the South East.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just stayed at this hotel for a family function. Staff very friendly and good facilities for the children. Overall good value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Booked a great value 2 night midweek package direct with the Hotels website during the school holidays in August. We wanted a family friendly hotel that would have other kids present for our daughter to play with. We also wanted a swimming pool for her to play in and brush up on swimming lessons. Brandon House did not disappoint.

Reception was one of the best I have ever encountered. Checking in was easy, courteous and friendly and it set the tone for the rest of our stay. We booked a budget room and found it to be above average for the price we paid. It was the same standard/size if not better than the Travelodge style of room. We had a small problem with our sink which was immediately sorted after we informed reception.

The swimming pool and facilities in the aquaroom were the best I have seen for a while. The foot massage and water sprays were great to massage the body and there was also a steam room and sauna plus kids area, jacuzzi and waterfall.

The Hotel itself has a laid, back country charm to it and the staff are part of this atmosphere. Friendly with an easy, relaxed ,country welcome. Nothing was much trouble to them and Patsy deserves a special word for making sure we were looked after.

Food was country style so full of flavour, fresh, home cooked and well above restaurant standards. The restaurant had proper linen tableware and quality cutlery. Great menu for the kids both healthy and tasty. Our daughter had roast beef, gravy and vegetables which she loved at half the price of the normal menu. We had a very enjoyable meal while our daughter was ushered away to the kids club where she was supervised until 11pm at no cost.

We did not use the facilities of the Spa but plan to next time we visit as the prices were all very reasonable with tempting special offers.

I would not advise people to visit Brandon House during school Holidays if they are looking for a peaceful break. We were happy to have kids about the place and as we pay our money like everybody else we are entitled to have our family needs met also.

Brandon House did just that and as a family friendly hotel, it was one of the best we have stayed at as it looks after children with respect and warmth rather than an inconvenience.

I would compare Brandon House to Kellys Resort in Rosslare for its warm Irish welcome and family atmosphere, but at half the cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
19.3 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
9.6 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
17.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,736 reviews
10.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
20.9 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Property: Brandon House Hotel
Address: Southknock, New Ross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing