We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently at a function. It's only ok. The room we were in was quite close to reception so everyone passed from the bar, going to bed etc. Also smokers outside the front door of the hotel (looks terrible btw) could be heard from our room. We had to have the window open as the room was so hot but had to close it when sleeping as it opened so wide, and we were on the bottom floor, anyone could have climbed in! Reception staff were pleasant, as were the waiting staff. Staff in function room bar so slow it was incredible. We didn't eat the breakfast a woke too late but friends told us it was ok. Thought the cost of room for night was v. Expensive for what u get. I have no problem paying for nice hotels, but thos isnt worth it. Also had suspicious itchy spots on us the following day, I can't definetivly blame the room as in fairness it seemed very clean but it's questionable. Hotel Only ok. V expensive for what u get.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopsydopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bettiemarie, General Manager at Brandon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Dear Mopsydopsy

As we continuously strive to improve the hotel, even through these difficult times, it's with distress that I read that you did not enjoy your stay to it's fullest, and felt that we were over rated. Most of our reputation rests on our food and genuine customer service, and I am delighted that you felt we did not let you down in that department.

However, that does not distract from your other points. Unfortunately we built a designated smoking area opposite the ballroom two years ago, but are battling to get our regular guests, especially when attending functions, to part with old habits, and hope that in time they will use the area provided, instead of the front of the hotel ( not to speak of us having to clean our flower beds everytime).

You were clearly allocated a room too close to the "hubbub" of things, and we do have very quiet rooms at the other end of the building. My sincerest apology.

As for the expense, it is very difficult for more traditional hotels to compete with new and modern hotels that were more recently built. We have a staggered refurbishment plan in place, and have already refurbished 14 family rooms. This is an ongoing process, and I do not hesistate to say that our cleanliness cannot be questioned.

When being compared to new hotels some might feel that we are missing "the modern extras". Hence you might feel we are too expensive, however we meet with all four star requirements as laid out. I hope your lasting memory will be of the wonderful team I have the honour of working with, and that the friendly faces all around will be the overriding memory of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve, and be assured that we will do our best. Regards Bettie-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 697 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I had our wedding reception here 4th December 2010, during the worst spell of weather the south-east has ever seen. The hotel staff were ever so helpful to us and our wedding party, nothing was too much trouble. Greg, who was our dedicated wedding co-ordinator, made sure that everything ran smoothly, went over and above the call of duty regarding my Christmas decoration obsession, and made it a day to remember for us and our guests. The food was beyond criticism, as was the service. I would thoroughly recommend this venue for anybodys wedding. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WexfordLizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

From our original contact we had a very positive feeling for the hotel including an immediate offer to upgrade our elderly parents to a superior room in a very quiel part of the hotel as they were celebrating their golden wedding anniversary. All staff members we encountered over the weekend stay were pleasant and helpful. Loved the extensive art collection in the reception rooms. Children really enjoyed the leisure facilities-essential for a wet October weekend and the food in the restaurant was tasty, well presented and very good value. Took a trip to Hook Head lighthouse, did the guided tour and found this to be excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alivealiveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

just home from a break at the brandon house hotel and i must say it was most enjoyable
the staff we re welcoming and friendly the room was spacious and warm the food was gorgeous whatmore can i say except that we are already planning a return trip

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkCityTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed here with a 14,11 and 7 year old.

In general it is an adequate hotel but has little to make it stand out.

The 3-legged cat that hangs around outside gave a bit of amusement to the children.

Padraig O'Dea
Eaton Square
Monkstown

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21dewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have just returned from 3. nights in the Brandon House Hotel in New Ross. I have walking problems and sometimes have to use a wheelchair. I had booked a superior room and when I asked which floor the room was on( they do not have a lift) - was told that all superior rooms were on the 1st floor, and I can manage one flight of stairs, I said that would be ok.

Upon arrival however, I discovered that the room was miles from the stairs - 2 long corridors - one of which has 3 very stiff fire doors, & the wheelchair could hardly squeeze into. I could have changed to a ground floor room, but this was much smaller than the one on the 1st floor.

Disabled parking was also a problem. The car parks were large, but there were only a couple of disabled bays, and because of the positioning of these - it was almost impossible to get wheelchair out or in. We complained about this, but the receptionist didnt know why they were like that. Like all hotels, their websites rarely even mention their policy towards disabled access- its all about spas, leisure centres, and beautiful locations. Why do they do this? Dont they know that they have some responsibilities reagarding Disabled access?

Apart from that - the hotel was ok - and was packed with babies. toddlers, and older children. There was a notice saying that no children were allowed in the bar after 9.pm. But every night, there were numerous in the bar - some of whom were only 2-3 - running through the bar well past midnight and bedtimes - stilll screaming , & ignored by parents. Dinnner was ruined by the noise - I would never go back there during school holidays again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxannr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We arrived to a very busy hotel however, the hotel receptionist was very efficient and had us booked in to our rooms in a timely manner. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent. The choice on the childrens menu was very good and well priced. The hotel was quite busy but had plenty of activities on offer for young children. The only downside to our stay was that we had rooms on the ground floor which was a bit noisy during the evening and personally I would have preferred a room on the first floor where maybe there would be less activity. However, the rooms are spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and good at there jobs. I would recommend this hotel based on the service of the staff, food, and facilities. This hotel is a good base to use if you are travelling around Wexford sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkelligsKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ross
17.7 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
18.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,917 reviews
19.3 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
9.6 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House Hotel

Address: Southknock, New Ross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > New Ross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Ross
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Brandon House Hotel and Solas Croi Eco Spa is a Country Manor House conveniently situated on the N25 in historical New Ross, nestled between Wexford and Waterford. With easy access to some of the best beaches Ireland has to offer, including Duncannon Beach, Dollar Bay & Boley Bay, and a wide selection of child friendly activities, plus The Dunbrody Famine Ship, JFK Arboretum and Hook Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel New Ross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing