We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Super Place To Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Oaks Guest House

Twin Oaks Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hedge End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Oaks Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hedge End B&B and Inns
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Super Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at Twin Oaks for each of my 4 visits to the annual Southampton Boat Show. I came across it by chance the first year and was so glad I did, hence the repeat visits. The rooms are comfortable and clean with good en suite facilities. All the rooms I have stayed in have been quiet allowing for a good night's sleep. Breakfasts are great with a wide choice and pleasant surroundings, being served in conservatory overlooking garden to rear. The owners, Penny & Martin, are very friendly and make you feel at home. Similarly the extra staff who help out are of a similar disposition. I would have no hesitation in recommending Twin Oaks to other travellers. It is also handily placed for visits to various places in the surrounding area. I am looking forward to my next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just spent a fab weekend visiting friends in the area. Guesthouse within walking distance. Owners very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Our room was large tastefully decorated and quiet overlooking the garden. Lovely breakfast room and a good choice of cereals/fruit or cooked breakfast. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Suspect rooms at the back are quieter as they overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Twin Oaks is by far the most disgusting guest house I have ever had the misfortune to pay for. The whole house is untidy, cluttered, shabby and dirty. The carpets everywhere looked as though they haven't been vacuumed in ages, and the room I stayed in was dirty and dusty. There was an enormous length of cobweb hanging from the wardrobe. As for the bathroom, it was truly disgusting. The shower cubicle was filthy and the shower head and soap dispenser (which looked like something you would find in a public toilet) were black with mould. I was glad I was only booked in for one night as there was no way I would have used the shower! The towels were threadbare and extremely rough. The breakfast was average. Overall, definitely NOT worth £65/night and I certainly would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SAJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We have stayed at Twin Oaks for 2 - 3 visits per year for 4 years, mainly to watch the cricket at the Rose Bowl. Penny and Martin are always welcoming and go out of their way to accomodate your needs.
We stayed in a well presented bedroom with en suite and they are always spotless and well maintained as is the whole house.
The breakfast is very good as usual and all requirements are catered for.
There is plenty of parking which is a bonus.
We sometimes see the same guests when we stay and they too have been going to Twin Oaks for many years.
I would encourage you to disregard the review by Lankalean.
I am sure you will enjoy your stay!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Sir I cannot agree with the guest who wrote glowingly about Twin Oaks at Hedge end . I have stayed six B & B in Hedge End and this one certainly gets the thumbs down.

Martin the owner seems nice enough although he barely acknowledged me. Penny the landlady couldn't even bring herself to say Hello to me. They were not very friendly
. When you arrive in this house you dont feel like coming from a home to a home. It was like going in to a unit in an industrial estate Owners live on the ground floor where four rooms are. The whole corridor was a mess with books , files and clutter every where . The reception area ( If you can call that ) was a terrible mess. Not a single ornament, a beautiful picture or stature you would see in other B & B was there. They havent put any thought about decor, or give the house that warm and welcoming feeling


The landlady Penny needs to go on a course about how to keep a professional B & B house nice, tidy and attractive to guests. .


The en-suite twin room I stayed was cramped . I didnt even have enough room to move about. Space wast enough to keep two beds in that room But the worst thing was the noise. You could hear everything the guests in the next room were saying . You could hear their Tv even at the low volume. I didnt need a alarm clock because the snoring of the guest next room woke me up at 2am. I guess their partition walls are made of cardboard.

It was more like a over crowded boarding house than a proper B & B. . Although they need your money you get the feeling that you are not welcome there. May be they can afford to ignore new guests because they have enough long term stayers
This is a good lesson for everybody not to fall for websites of B & Bs. They describe the place as fantasy land and you go there believing everything they say only to get very disappointed. The couple has young children so perhaps they have not got enough time to make the B & b a better place for guests.


if you are a builder and nowhere else to stay you are ok to spend the night here, But if you are a professional looking for short term stay in Hedge end do not go here

if you are paying yours,this place is not worth for £45 a night (Thats reduced Winter price) . You wont wake up relaxed and refreshed However, if your employer pays and you need a place to stay just one night this place is bearable.
I am afraid I would never recommend this to anybody


I have stayed at many other local B & B and first thing you notice is how friendly and welcoming the hosts are. Unfortunately, I didnt get that feeling here.

May be come Summer, Penny would start to Smile and Martin would be more attentive and you would be ok. But that may be wishful thinking

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LankaLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penny s, Owner at Twin Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
A real shame that you did not inform us of any complaints that you had at the time. From your discriptions I do wonder if you have the right place?You have spelt Hedge End wrong and indeed Twin Oaks was also spelt incorrectly! If you look at our website, rooms can be viewed on line and it is plain to see the sizes and the high quality of them, prices for the rooms are also quoted there.
A vast majority of our guests return week after week/year after year and vary from professional people to holiday makers and visitors to the Hampshire cricket ground. Both new and returning guests are always made very welcome.
We do hope however that you find somewhere else more suitable for your requirements in the future and that should you have any complaints next time that you raise them with the owners face to face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Twin Oaks is a small, friendly guesthouse in a good location. We were warmly greeted by Martin and immediately felt at home, meeting Penny a little later that day. Twin Oaks is run primarily by Penny, who is obviously very keen to make her guests feel at home, with some assistance from Martin when he is not at his regular job. We had a lovely week there. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm with a very nice en-suite shower and toilet. The breakfast, which was served in a lovely conservatory, was tasty and filling. Penny was keen to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and she has a great rapport with her quests. We intend returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen46_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penny s, Owner at Twin Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
A lovely honest review, it was a pleasure to have you stay in our home. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hedge End
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
0.9 mi away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
Botleigh Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedge End
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Guest House

Property: Twin Oaks Guest House
Address: 43 Upper Northam Road, Hedge End SO30 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hedge End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hedge End
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing