We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach but not safe with cars allowed on beach”
Review of Duncannon Beach

Ranked #32 of 115 things to do in County Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tipperary
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach but not safe with cars allowed on beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Duncannon beach is absolutely beautiful. It is a beautiful beach to have a nice stroll on or to have a nice family day out but we were shocked that cars were allowed to drive onto the beach. I found this really dangerous as you just couldn't relax with the children on the beach they could be run over!!!!!! It is such a pity.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Duncannon town, county Wexford”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The beach is wide and really pretty with shallow water. We rented a cottage for a week which was way too long, a couple of days would have done us. If you are looking for a beach holiday with small children then this is the place. The town is empty, it's been taken over by holiday rentals and it's a ghost town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank barbie 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach but....cars drive on it”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a beautiful sandy beach in a lovely location. However, cars are allowed onto the beach and this causes oil stains and is dangerous as this beach is used by families. The Fort is just up over the beach and this gives it a great feeling of the history attached to this area.

Helpful?
1 Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

was there to day even on a rainy day a lovely place to visit nice people good views

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach, intimate village, friendly area...”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

A pretty seaside village, with a lovely holiday atmosphere, we had a wonderful break here. Somehow, still fairly unspoilt, this place reminded me of holidays I had (too) many years ago when I was a kid. Nice local pubs and restaurants with good food, very friendly and relaxing. We were able to travel to a fair few other attractions in the area easily. Hook Lighthouse is definitely worth a visit, as is Dunbrody Famine Ship (New Ross). Weather was mixed, about 50/50 sunny vs windy, but we still had a lovely time.

Helpful?
12 Thank JudyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duncannon Beach also viewed

New Ross, County Wexford
New Ross, County Wexford
 
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
New Ross, County Wexford
 

Been to Duncannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing