We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Pizza and Ice Cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginos

Ginos
Ranked #63 of 174 Restaurants in Waterford
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza and Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Always a favourite of mine. Ginos has the best pizza you can find in Waterford. The pizzas may be expensive but they are very very tasty.

For dessert try some ice cream. If you are adventurous try "death by chocolate", a great dessert if you like chocolate. All ice creams are home-made.

Gino's recently also started a home delivery service. Ideal if you don't fancy hiking into town.

Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“€15.25 for Medium pizza ????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I decided to treat myself to goats cheese & rocket so I expected a lot. Six thin slices of cheese is just not enough. I had an extra topping of spinach which was hard to find and the garlic bread, your standard baguette you can buy anywhere. C'mon some chiabata olive oil and garlic butter would be perfect, it's not rocket science ! The staff were nice but none of them wore a hair net or cap, even the guy on the over ! The best part of the pizza was the base. It had a good texture and not too thick or thin. I would be very slow to return. €12 was enough for that pizza.

Helpful?
Thank BBspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“don't seem to want customers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have brought the family once to Gino's in Cork and being very impressed, this was our fourth visit to Ginos in Waterford. we arrived for my sons birthday treat, 2 adults 4 children, no room seemingly. We were told we would have to sit at seperate tables, granted we hadnt booked but on previous occasions the place was half empty and on those we were squashed into the tiny middle section on the left of the restauraunt (the awful part under the glass roof where you are blinded by the sunlight - buy a roof blind!) even though the whole back of the restauraunt was empty. I'm trying to be fair here but I'm applying the 3 strikes and you're out rule. Our first time here was excellent, the 2nd 3rd and fourth were very poor getting poorer on a worsening scale - messed up orders, untidy premises, pieces of (?) in the drinking water. dreadful and disinterested service. Not enough staff, the staff that are there can't cope and there appears to be no defined roles for each member. The guy making the pizzas at the front counter had abandoned the pizza mid preperation to do floor service.
Definitely not a relaxed family experience. We turned on our heels today and went elsewhere.
Food and value are good but everything else lets it down.
At the moment you give off "a big we're not bothered vibe" towards the customer and it shows.
You need to get it together guys- it could be great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering pizzas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have visited Ginos restaurant on many occasions and it's safe to say I've never once been disappointed!
The staff are all very friendly, the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed and as for the food - just delicious!
I would highly recommend Ginos to a friend if they enjoy pizzas! Hope to be back again soon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielle_cleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The taste of more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently went in and got the €10 Special which was great value with a personal pizza drink and dessert, we also orders a garlic bread with cheese everything was amazing especially the ice cream, I just wish staff were more attentive...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Junkieforbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginos also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Ginos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing