We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #42 of 178 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Vegetarian and celiac friendly
cork ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate at this restaraunt over the weekend. It is a little little Italian restaraunt in waterford. The setting is small and cosy but the food was gorgeous. Real Italian flavours and real Italian food.
My fiance is Italian so take it from here this is the real deal.
The pana cotta is a must if you go there.
Hopefully they will open one in Cork.
Go there eat and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin30041976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    34
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had a very enjoyable evening at this restaurant a few weeks ago with my partner and two other couples. The atmosphere is relaxed and the clientele seemed to be regulars, which is a good sign! The food and drink was very well priced, no more than €35 a person, this included starters, mains , coffees and plenty of wine. The staff are very friendly and do not impose unless needed. We all enjoyed the evening and felt in no way rushed as we stayed for some time finishing our wine. One tip I would give is to maybe share a starter as the portions are very generous. Hope to get back here soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank br0wnbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flatbreads are gorgeous and the coffee is one of the best in the city”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sat in here recently for a cappuccino that you could tell was made by an Italian. Can't think of anywhere around the city that does better. As for the flatbread, this was simple enough but was absolutely delicious with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar and olive oil just to top it all off. Would highly reommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow but worth the wait :)”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a small Italian cafe, which was very busy when we went there. It is run by a man & woman , and the food is prepped is front of you!

We had tomatoe soup.. Special starter that day. It was only €5 and it was huge. The flavours were bursting.. And presentation was fab.

I will defo return here.

Service was a little slow with the cafe being full however the man was attending to everyone accordingly :)

Very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Italian dishes beautifully created by an Estonian in the middle of Ireland! Can't get more international than that! ”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the appetizer to the dessert this meal was incredible. The restaurant is cozy and casual (seats only 20) and the chef (and also co-owner), a big but very pleasant Estonian knows how to cook! We opted for the evening's specials and were delighted. The facade of the building blends with all others but their food stands on its own!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Harlequin Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing