We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellant stay we will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portree House
Certificate of Excellence
arklow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellant stay we will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Lovely old place, within walking distance to the town.
the staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful.
the breakfast was very good, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, ( apple or orange )
then came the cooked breakfast with toast and brown bread, tea or coffee , very good value for 7 euros.
the room was lovely, and very clean, only thing we didnt like was the bedding nice and clean but very old fashioned, but we didnt let that spoil things for us .
we will definatley be back, and have already told some of our friends about this guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fagash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    34
    22
    18
    16
See reviews for
30
57
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Myself and my girlfriend traveled down for a night out with her friends to celebrate her 21st. wasn't expecting much but was pleasently suprised. being in the industry it was a pleasure to stay in a normal place and reasonably priced. You get more than you pay for. great staff night porter was extreamly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHarpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

It was a pleasure to stay here, with good value, comfortable and clean rooms, a nice big comfy kitchen/dining area (with a gorgeous traditional AGA cooker - loved that warmth!). All of this comfort and space with the added advantage of friendly, chatty staff who were always on hand with anything we could want.

Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jj1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed in d guest house with my husband and my 2 year ald daughter,what a lovely place for a great price!we wanted something in town cente but not too noisy so this guest house was perfect for us!going back there for my sister's hen party!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killarneyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed in Portree House for a weekend with the missus recently. Its an interesting old building, this can be seen from the minute you step in the door. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good, the staff very very friendly.
I have to comment on the location though, its a super location very near the rail station and a very short walk to town, no car needed to get around, I loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

the staff at Portree made my partner and i feel incredibly welcome. Christopher was quite a character. we laughed so much during our stay here. i wish we had the time to stay on a little longer but unfortunately/fortunately we had to move on to visit friends in Killarney.
we will definitely be back again. a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Great hotel, staff were really friendly. one of the closests accomadations to the train station and bus stations and only 5 min strole from the city. Would def reccommend to friends. Room was lovely, had all the expected requirements and never had any issues. Nice and quite street so there was no nighttime noise.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobbabyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree House

Property: Portree House
Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing