We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterford visit”
Review of Portree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portree House
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waterford visit”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this via the Irish Visitor Service in Kilkenny. Awful, in a borderline neighborhood. We couldn't tell if they allowed smoking, or it was remnants of smokers, but it was smelly. There was no soap or shampoo provided. It's terribly old and worn out to the extreme. The pillows were so hard my ear fell asleep. Noisy, you could hear everything and everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
59
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Getting to the hotel isn't difficult as its only a few minutes walk from the train and bus stations. Unfortunately the signs for the hotel are not easy to find so check the map beforehand.

The staff at the hotel were nice and helpful, and wifi access easy to use. But the private rooms are up a few staircases so don't pack too much. Plus the building needs some renovation.

For anyone on a budget but looking for privacy, its perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This guesthouse was over-priced and very poor quality. While suitable for rugby teams and their hanger's on, anyone that washes daily should avoid it.

We spent one night here and had two single rooms. The hotel smelled like cigarettes and everything, from sheets to carpet, looked and felt synthetic. The floor in my travelling partner's room had not been cleaned and there was mould around the tiles in my bathroom. My bed was akin to a hammock. Staying on the upper floors is also a problem if you have heavy baggage.

The low point was the group of fireman staying in the room next to my elderly friend. They were wrestling (or engaged in some other kind of rough housing) and speaking over each other until the early hours and she got very little sleep. She raised this pre-emptly with the manager who suggested she just bang on the door and tell them to shut up. For an elderly woman this was not reasonable.

The only positive was the kindness and sympathy of the women in the kitchen the next day.

Room Tip: We visited Waterford to go to the crystal factory. In retrospect, we should have stayed in another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely place to say, good value and lovely breakfast. At first I missed the tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but then found out that tea/coffee/hot chocolate were available free of charge in the lounge and downstairs in the kitchen for the bunk house.My husband and I travelled in a party of motorcyclists with 3 other couples we had a lovely double en-suite rooms. While the 5 boys travelling without their partners shared a family room. There was safe parking for the bikes which is always a bonus. It was homely and the staff made us all very welcome. Only draw back was the shower was a bit small if you were on the larger side but will definitely stay there again when we return to Waterford.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sospangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Portree Guest House recently. It was very good value. The beds were comfortable and we were able to make our own drinks in the lounge with tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided for free, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooldudeWokingSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall the Portree had many good points. The location was central and everything we wanted to see in Waterford was within walking distance. Our room was clean and our breakfast was enjoyable. The only drawback was the smell of cigarette smoke, which was coming from the main floor of the house. Twice we went out and on our return were immediately hit with the smell of nicotine as we walked past the manager's office. We shut the door and opened the windows in our room, but it was not easy to forget the smell that was coming up from the stairwell. We will consider staying someplace else on our next trip to Waterford.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at Portree Guest House from 29th November until 3rd December and found it to be very clean and comfortable. Staff were very welcoming upon arrival and really went out of their way to make their guests comfortable. At breakfast you are presented with an excellent choice of cereals, yoghurt etc, before receiving a lovely cooked breakfast, I would certainly stay here again. Thank you and well done.

C. Cosgrove

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree House

Property: Portree House
Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing