We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Customers”
Review of Portree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portree House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our bedspread was stained and there still was hair from the last customer in our shower. The building smells like old cigarette smoke and mildew that management has attempted to cover up with air freshener. We were unaware that downstairs there is a hostel which housed customers who partied outside our window until wee hours of the morning, playing loud music from their parked car. Since our guidebook described this as an ideal "quiet" location, we were sorely disappointed.....especially for the price we paid!!!!!!!

We booked the accomodation after reading a favorable review from "Lonely Planet" (usually a great resource). Since booking, we read unfavorable recent reviews but ignored them. Our advice is to LISTEN to all these reviews and either book somewhere else or negotiate a much lower price than asked and set your expectations low.

-Kathleen/Andrew (USA)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Portree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Yeah I had no problem with this place.. fairly central. I slept like a log and bed was clean and comfy. My room was quiet, no noise etc. Nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hostel is an illegal 14-bed facility in the cellar of a guest house behind the Guinness factory. The owner is mean, the rooms are both unisex and noisy, there's 1 unventilated bathroom for 14 of you, the shower doesn't work so you must take a bath, and it's the most expensive hostel (20 euros) in Ireland. Breakfast and towels are extra charges. Snoring was so loud due to small rooms that I didn't sleep, it also smells as it's not well-ventilated. Irish tourist board told me the place is illegal, not approved, without permits. Owner is mean & so is his staff. Stay away for your peace of mind.

Room Tip: Go to Tramore & Beach Haven Hostel -- it's lovely and only a 2 or 3 euro easy bus ride.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marthaquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I actually stayed there in July 2009. A little off the beaten path but near enough to restaurants and shops. Originally I had booked with the hostel portion, but opted for a private single room instead. Had a small ensuite, the room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bucketlist58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in Waterford for two nights. Portree House is a 3 level hotel, with a hostel in the lowest level. We booked two rooms which accommodated 6 people (three in each). Our room overlooked the Guinness Factory (noisy, starting at 6am). We could barely turn around in our room, which I realize is indicative of European hotels - however, our room should have only contained one double bed, not one double plus a twin. Bathroom was minimal, but clean. Had not booked our rooms to include breakfast, which turned out to be a good decision based on the strong/bad aroma coming from the dining room on the first morning we woke up. Instead, we walked to a coffee shop nearby. Waterford has a small city centre, and was easily accessible on foot from Portree (about a 15 min. walk). I did not feel this was a good value at all. I wish we would have stayed at a different hotel in Waterford, or better yet, stayed in Wexford.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very good location, just a few minutes walk from the train station and the town centre.
The staff are very friendly and looked after all my needs.
My room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
I have stayed here before and will probably come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymond87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A friend and I completed a charity cycle through Ireland in August 2011 in aid of Enable Irealnd. We would like to thank the Owner/Management for their kindness and generosity in providing us with complimentary beds during our stay in Waterford. I have stayed in quiet a few hostels and this one is amongst the cleanest. The staff were very friendly. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was very fresh looking. The beds were comfortable. There was also a locker provided with every bed. The showers were good. The kitchen and living room area were very tidy with alot of information laid out around the place. The hostel is in a very quiet place and a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre! Overall a really good inexpensive option while staying in Waterford!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkBr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree House

Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Waterford
Price Range: $50 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing