We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Barley Field

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Barley Field
Ranked #11 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Granger, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Barley Field for one night. The room had 3 beds for the 3 of us and we were comfortable with the size of the room. The bathroom was modern and had been updated. This is a very good value for the price. We especially liked the great meal that we had in the evening. Keith and his staff prepared a great dinner and their breakfast, the following morning was terrific, as well. We felt is was very central to the city and within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    17
    9
    20
See reviews for
6
37
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here it is a great place to stay . On my check in I was greeted by very friendly staff who where more than happy to help me with anything I needed . I was also provided with details for parking ,my room key and a TV remote .

My room was on the 3rd floor and there is no lifts as the property was advertised as a Guest House I wasn't expecting there to be any .My Room was very clean and seemed to have recently been refurbished to a high standard and was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed .
The Barley Field is located about a 4 min walk to Waterford city centre .I would highly recommend to this anyone and I would stay again .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taznolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in the Barley field on the 27/9/2013 for 2 nights . from the minute we arrived we were made welcome by the manager keith .our room was on the third floor which was not a problem , we were delighted with the room it was spotless the bed was very comfortable also we could not believe the power of the shower it was fantastic .
Before we went in to the town center we had a few drinks in the bar and i can tell you the Guinness was very tasty my wife asked for a light snack which the manager keith was very helpful.
The town center is a very short walk from the hotel when we arrived back at the hotel which was very late there was a hen night there and that added to the fun .everyone in the Barley field were very nice from customers to bar staff ... we slept very well no noise on both days we had breakfast which was outstanding everyone who traveled with me agreed .
Myself and my wife enjoyed our stay so much we have booked again to stay in november and we recommended the hotel to friends ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dessi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked this hotel in part because of the relatively attractive photos and the reasonable prices.
Upon arriving we were greeted (or should I say NOT greeted by a rather unfriendly woman behind the desk. I was so put off by this woman's lack of hospitality that I was ready to leave. Only then did she start to warm up a bit.
As for the rooms. Dated and tired. The bathroom, however, was modern and renovated. We stayed on the third floor and there are no lifts to get you there. There was also no remote for the TV which rendered the TV inoperable. When I went down to the front desk (because there are no phones in the room) to see about getting a remote our friendly desk clerk was nowhere to be found. I walked around behind the desk and found myself in the pub. That's where I found our clerk, sitting at the bar. The bartender told me he would find me a remote but never did so we that was the end of that.
When we checked out the next morning there was a different clerk who was totally unconcerned as to how our stay was as he barely uttered a word.
The tariffs for this place are cheap but be prepared to get what you pay for...not much.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floors as there is no lift in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Pictures on tripadvisor look great and are a fairly good reflection of the hotel. Rooms have recently been refurbished very well and are spacious. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Downside is that it is above a pub although this is now only for members and residents, so never over busy. Dont take too much heed of the 'terrible' reviews, this is a very good value hotel..

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank restaurantreviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed one night and it being a Friday night could understand if there was some noise being that the room was above a pub. upon arriving our booking was lost due to no fax paper, while this was being we were offered a free drink (beer). It tasted terrible and when checked the use by it was three months out of date. We went to be to be woken up at 2.30am by doors slamming, loud yelling, laughing and people banging on the walls. The went on for over an hour with no management taking action. Breakfast was the only bonus. Keith and Neil were very unhelpful in fact Neil was quite rude. Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardglass, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I would say that the barleyfield is the place to stay if u going to visit waterford me and my wife stayed 3 nights from the 5th to 8th of sept and the service from all the staff was exellent the rooms are very clean and the food was very good will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barley Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Field

Property: The Barley Field
Address: 35 - 36 Barracks Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barley Field 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and newly renovated, the family-run Barley Field is just a two-minute walk from Waterford city centre, offering an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful historical surroundings of Waterford city and county. All comfortable rooms at the property have en suite facilities and include a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. We serve breakfast, lunch and evening meals in the dining area or in the bar. The Barley Field is located close to the vibrant Waterford city center and has live music every Saturday night and bank holiday Sunday. There are various places to visit in historic Waterford, including the famous House of Waterford Crystal, 10 minutes’ walk away, and the Bishops Palace. The Waterford Museum of Treasures is 15 minutes away by foot.Local leisure pursuits include shopping, walking and fishing, as well as horse riding and surfing. There are also several championship golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Barley Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing