We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend, Great Value & Lovely Staff”
Review of The Barley Field

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barley Field
Ranked #15 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We went down to Waterford for my sister's hens weekend and everyone had great craic all 30 of us. The location is perfect, only a 5 minute walk to the pubs n shops. The rooms were comfortable and clean.
The staff were nothing short of amazing, they were polite, friendly, helpful and tended to our every need. Will definately be back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilygbrownrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel had everything-breakfast included, lovely room ensuite, wonderful service, Irish craic, and a bar on the first floor! Was in a perfect location in Waterford...just a short walk to the City Centre, Waterford Crystal, and anything you could possibly need. I have a gluten intolerance, and they had gluten free bread so I could have a proper breakfast every morning of my stay! My room was clean, and spacious, including the bathroom. I stayed alone but was able to meet plenty of lovely Irish people who made me feel very welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAdams1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Close to the city center, Reasonably priced, Friendly Staff and the room was Clean, what more could you want. A+

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Place was fine but would not be quick to stay again- dingey old place
Breakfast was nice the next day but I wont be going back!!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
Thank RobynJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We did not stay at the Rice Guesthouse but had a reservation. As soon as we opened the door, a wall of the wrech which is the smell of smoke hit us. The room was dingy and loud. This is more of a flop house for the homeless than a b&b. we looked at 3 more rooms and we were refunded.

The clerk really didn't care, he was more concerned about what was happening with his match playing out on the tele to care

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjglancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed in the Rice Guesthouse on a trip to have a look at bands in the city. The staff was friendly and the room very clean.

Breakfast the next morning was served fast and delicious by a very smiley staff member.

Would recommend to anyone on holiday to stay there as the price is very good for what you get

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elma1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We went down to Waterford for a hens night 5-2-11. Its only a 5 minute walk down to the town. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The hen and our 13 chicks had a great night . The staff were nothing short of amazing, they were polite, friendly, helpful and tended to our every need.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janisseery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barley Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Field

Address: 35 - 36 Barracks Street, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barley Field 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and newly renovated, the family-run Barley Field is just a two-minute walk from Waterford city centre, offering an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful historical surroundings of Waterford city and county. All comfortable rooms at the property have en suite facilities and include a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. We serve breakfast, lunch and evening meals in the dining area or in the bar. The Barley Field is located close to the vibrant Waterford city center and has live music every Saturday night and bank holiday Sunday. There are various places to visit in historic Waterford, including the famous House of Waterford Crystal, 10 minutes’ walk away, and the Bishops Palace. The Waterford Museum of Treasures is 15 minutes away by foot.Local leisure pursuits include shopping, walking and fishing, as well as horse riding and surfing. There are also several championship golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Barley Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing