We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great VFM”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on a Sunday night and must say, contrary to some of the reviews, found it to be very quiet and peaceful. The hotel has recently been built and has thus new and modern furinture and fittings. It is in ecellent decorative order throughout and immaculately clean, contrary to some of the reviews, which I believe may be from some of the other seedier establishments. WE have stayed in this hotel before and found it excellant value for the price. The restaurant in the hotel was very quiet but the evening meal and breakfast were superlative and well worth having. There are tea/
coffe making facilities in each room and the room contained one double and one single bed. It was clean and very modernistic though not minimilistically furnished.

The hotels location is approx a twenty minute walk from the night clubs and noiser part of town but at no stage did we feel intimidated
or nervous whne returning to our base. The only downside is that the bar area is very quiet in the evenings but beautifully appointed.

This hotel is the best value for money in the Waterford district and we both look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jonnyboyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2007

Myself and my partner stayed in the Fitzwilton and both of us agree that it is not a hotel we would return to. We got a great deal online and to be honest i would be disgusted if we paid any more for our stay. After a 3 hour drive we had to find our own parking on a side street as the car park was full. On arrival to reception i have to say the receptionist was very friendly and pleasant. However, there was a very strong smell of fish in the reception area which is very off putting, obviously the kitchen is close by and whatever is cooking is carried in to this area.

I am amazed that this hotel is considered a four star. For being a relatively new hotel i wasn't impressed by the decor. Already there are signs of shabby and old looking carpets and furnishings. To cut a long story short we requested to change to another room after arriving to the first one due to the stench in the bathroom plus the pubic hairs which were gathered in every corner of the bathroom. I was horrified! Our second room wasn't much better to be honest. Still hairs on the bathroom floor but the smell was not as pungent. Also for a non-smoking room it stank of smoke and the wall outside the window was used to stub out cigarettes as it was covered in black ash. Although there was a double and a single bed only one cup was provided with the tea making facilities. Feeling unconvinced with the general cleanliness i washed the cup and wiped it with a towel, the amount of dirt that came out of the cup was appalling. The glasses provided for your toothbrush in the bathroom were absolutely filthy, it was like they hadn't been cleaned in 6 months. The stopper in the sink was broken so I had to physically pull it out myself to wash my face so it wouldn't overflow. I could go on and on about the dirt of this hotel. Every ledge had a layer of dust on it and i certainly kept my socks on when walking around.
I had no intention of availing of breakfast as i was left with an uneasy feeling in my stomach after all the cleanliness issues.

I know Waterford well and will definitely stay elsewhere for my next visit. I have stayed in much better and far cleaner 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank AmberlyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

I really enjoyed staying stay at this hotel during my holiday in Ireland. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained and located near the city centre. I found the room very comfortable and the staff very friendly. I was particularly impressed with the staff - especially Bala who was very helpful to me in sorting out a rental car and a map of the locality. He made my stay in the hotel a really enjoyable experience and showed the true meaning of Irish hospitality. I hope to return next year for another holiday in Ireland and will definitely stay in this hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank americanirish2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Picked the hotel from the website and some reviews. It's new, and well appointed in the main areas. Rooms are a little cluttered. Room cleaning is indifferent, but everything worked.

Restaurant acceptable, but you should consider dining elsewhere if possible.

Location OK if you know your way around Waterford. Close to the bridge and 1 block from the Quay. Not the sexy part of town, a fair walk from the central square, and could be a little intimidating walking home at night for families and women.

Hotel seems to pitch to the business trip crowd and party groups rather than families or couples. Receptionist incorrectly billed my card on check in, thinking that we were on some business deal (actually a family on holiday with 3 teens).

Inadvertently left some items behind. Great difficulty with retrieval, mainly due to poor staff communication and systems. Only really got satisfaction after contacting general manager (very helpful). Other staff mostly not Irish, not focussed and not well trained or supervised.

Waterford has not really managed to re-invent itself yet. There is little of interest in the city after you've been to the factory. There is nothing about this hotel which would induce me to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Elliot_Paspalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed in hotel for a 3 night special and left after the first. The hotel is on a very busy road in what seems like a dodgy part of town. My husband and I did not feel comfortable walking back to our hotel even during the day. Overall hotel is very modern looking but lacks the service of a 4 star. More suitable for stag and hen parties but not for tourists. I would never return to Waterford city but the surrounding towns are much better.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank BelfastSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Arrived at hotel for check in, first impression of building was modern and stylish. But an immediate problem jumped up..the area to park! Not nearly enough parking spaces for such a large hotel! Recepionist was not very welcoming at all, not even a hello and welcome...Just..... "Checkin in yea?"

Hotel room seemed clean and comfortable, but we noticed a door in room leading to another room, for large families(I was with my girlfriend) just the two of us, why put us in a room like that? Ordered a meal to room as we arrived late and where very tired, this meal i have to say was very nice and we both enjoyed it!

First night was restful and went undisturbed...that was until about 8 in the morning the couple in the room through our door in room sounded like they were sat next to us eating breakfast and talking, very loud and only becasue these doors werent solid. We made a complaint and asked kindly to be moved, which was fine and they moved us no problem. New room was worse, i wont ramble on any longer...but second night we hardly slept an hour or two...Hen and stag parties screaming up and down hallway and shouting at each other from there windows outside. Obscene shouts i might add! Not for couples or families who want a nice peaceful break, get drunk and head to the fitzwilton with bunny ears on you and you'll enjoy it!!

Oh and the breakfast we ordered to the room was cold which wasnt included in price i might also ad! Much Much to expensive for what it was....awful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marmaduke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed here with a couple of my mates while on a night out in Waterford. Hotel is quite new so the rooms were spotless. Size of our rooms were quite large, as was the same with the bathrooms. Rooms contained flat screen tv but no minibar. Hotel is located on a busy street but street facing rooms were still very quiet. Staff at the reception desk were all foreign and not very helpful. Nightly room rate was a great deal for price (€40 per person). Location is just in the city centre, perfect for the pubs and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TommyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $73 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing