We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in a family room for the Spraoi festival, our second such stay.

The receptionists were lovely and helpful.

The room was perfect for our needs. It has everything, and the linens were excellent quality. The heat of the corridors and lift area was unbearable, however, and really needs to be addressed as it had been mentioned in several reviews. The rooms were not as bad, but still pretty stuffy. TV service could be upgraded.

On the second morning, the cleaners came while we were out for the day, and didn't close the door after them. We only discovered it when we returned at about 11.30pm. Luckily nothing had been taken. I tried to call reception by got no reply. I did report it when checking out, and was told it would be looked into.

We ate twice in the Met bar, where we were served by Iain. He was super efficient, pleasant, really knows his job. The food was great and very good value. The chowder was absolutely bursting with seafood! My friends joined us and got the yum yum dinner, which was excellent value. Children had a good choice, too. The hand cut chips were a nice touch.The doors to the smoking area don't close tightly, and when there were a few people smoking the bar was as smelly as the smoking area.

Breakfast was good, tasty sausages, loved the yogurt too.

Overall, much more good things to say than bad about this place. I will certainly return, I would just love to see these small matters fixed, it would have been 5 stars from me, otherwise.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Docondee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a last minute, mid-week decision to take a short break in Waterford - we arrived on a wet Wednesday. We were greeted very warmly by a friendly, efficient young man at the reception desk. We enquired about evening dining options and he outlined what was on offer in the hotel. He, particularly, recommended the special Dinner package which included a bottle of wine. As the weather was pretty dismal, we took up the offer. The food was very good, the service was excellent and we enjoyed the experience, despite the relatively empty diningroom. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The decor in the lobby - a mixture of cool greys, pewter, black and silver, complemented by mood lighting at the reception desk, may not be to everybody's taste, but, I felt that it lent a sense of individuality to the hotel. Breakfast was standard - plenty of choice. We would be happy to return to this centrally, friendly small hotel in Waterford.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night for what was supposed to be a relaxing 20th wedding anniversary and birthday surprise. From the moment we stepped off the lift and seen the dirt on the walls and carpet we knew it wasn't 4 star. Uncomfortable bed with stains on the covers, filthy carpet and a pathetic T.V. with only about 6 channels but the reception was so bad we couldn't watch it. Although it wasn't the hotels fault but the noise inside and outside all night ment we didn't get much sleep. Because we were on the 4th floor, a man joked with us that we were in the penthouse suite, he couldn't be further from the truth. We have stayed in better and cleaner 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skaj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very nice hotel and friendly staff, my husband and i stayed 25/7/14 for one night.
we had a drink at the bar before going for a meal in waterford, the round was cheaper than three other pubs in waterford and my husband said the Guiness at the hotel was a nicer pint all together.
That may be because the Guiness brewery is just round the corner, unlike my husband i don't think they have a direct line from the brewery !!
On returning to the hotel we ordered two Irish coffees to the room at a cost of 16 euro ( includes a 5 euro charge to the room)
as it was very warm i ordered two glasses of coke which cost 11 euro with another 5 euro room charge, i think one room. charge per night is more than enough, that said.
The room was very nice and the hotel was clean and well situated for access to the city.

Room Tip: There is a church across from the front access and if your not up by 10 am the 30 bells will get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recently stayed here for a break away. Lovely hotel but had to take away stars as a result of the heat in the rooms!! It was unbearable as there was no air con.We were told the air con in the rooms was broken but I do not think it was there at all as there was no where it possibly could have came in from. We opened the window but to no avail as we had to close it as a result of the noise. Lovely and friendly staff, especially want to mention the girl that was in charge of our room. So helpful and friendly!!!! She was absolutely lovely. Hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of all amenities. Parking was a bit of a nuisance. Very limited car park and if there were no spaces guests had to park on street or use public car park. All in all a very good stay which would have been excellent only for parking and air con in rooms. Also availed of the "Yum" menu in bar area. Very limited main course selection in what you were allowed order with this deal which I couldn't understand as the prices didn't vary that much. Breakfast was fantastic and self service. Would def recommend that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in July and was pretty disappointed. The car park is a nightmare. The spaces are too narrow and there are pillars everywhere. While the staff were nice and helpful, the hotel and rooms need a lot of work to get up to a four star standard. Would not go back in a hurry.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBernard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for a midweek break in the Fitzwilton hotel 'yum yum' deal. The hotel is very well situated, the staff at reception very friendly and helpful explaining places of interest and marking them on a map. The room was very compact and very very warm, although bed very comfortable the room was just too warm to sleep. The food choices on the yum yum menu very restricted and very disappointed when it arrived. I choose goats cheese tart for starters it was inedible, I had fish googons for main they were burned and hard left most of both dishes on plates. The staff were very apologetic, but meal was ruined. Breakfast was OK again not great. Don't know if I would return.

Room Tip: Didn't get one 416 compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gint06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing