We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden GEM in Waterford”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
winterton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hidden GEM in Waterford”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Situated just outside the City Centre, This hotel should be a must for the overnight or
shortstay visitor. It offers quality accomodation, full meals, snacks, wifi etc as well as
decent public spaces. Additionally, the rates are reasonable and its location is also
perfect for the train and bus traveller being a short walk from both.
Over and above all this, the Staff are most welcoming and helpful in every way and
are a credit to the Hotel.
Parking is secure but is on a first come basis.
I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask and every effort is made to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Brendan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. Thank you also for your recommendations and sound advice to would be travellers regarding our food services, location and amenities such as free parking & Wi-Fi. I will also pass your very kind words to our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and appreciate the wonderful review you have given to our team here at the Fitzwilton.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    395
    264
    156
    101
See reviews for
215
625
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had a deal giving two nights b&b plus one dinner. Modern hotel, easy enough to find despite detour for food festival we were not expecting! Parking is limited - full when we arrived. There is a street to the side of the hotel by the car park entrance where you can stop and unload. Then its a drive over the bridge and back again to be able to turn left onto Merchant's Quay where parking was cheap and plentiful (despite food festival!). It costs 5 euros - pay on departure at barrier and, with no entry ticket, didnt seem to matter how long you stayed. Hotel itself was ok. Decent room and breakfast. Complimentary dinner average. Busy bar downstairs hosting a harley davidson convention - good fun if a bit noisy! Location fine, easy to get to all sights. Is it 4 star?..... mm debatable. But would be expensive for a 3 star. Overall would stay again though. Staff very friendly and made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duvel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Goo morning reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am sorry to read the car park was full on arrival. We do offer free on-site parking however this can be limited at peak periods. As you do kindly point out, there are numerous options for parking within a very short walking distance of the hotel. I am delighted to read you will be happy to stay with us again and thank you also for your kind words relating to our friendly staff with which II will be more than happy to pass on. I am sorry to see dinner was just average and am happy to hear any further comments you may have on this so that we can address any issues you may have experienced. Thank you once again for your time in reviewing our property. I do hope you enjoyed the Waterford Harvest Food Festival and we look forward to welcoming you and yours back to Waterford and the Fitzwilton Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed a few times when on business, so all mid-week stays.

Located at the end of town but within easy walking distance of all attractions. Rooms are pleasantly appointed, staff seem very busy but always helpful and friendly. Bar is quite nice and food is good but not excellent.

I would quite happily stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review and also for choosing the Fitzwilton Hotel on your regular visits to Waterford City. Thank you also for your kind words relating to our rooms and staff. I would appreciate any further feedback you can offer on the bar food on your next visit so that we can do everything we can to bring it to the expected level of excellence that we strive to achieve.
I am delighted to read you will be happy to stay with us again and I will certainly forward your feedback to all relevant members of our team at the Fitzwilton Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel
Waterford City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very basic hotel. Room was clean but one of the window latches was broken and the vent did not close so awake all night with the noise of the gangs of people shouting and fighting outside. The flatest pillows I have ever witnessed and only 2 on the double bed. Shower was terrible along with breakfast which was like something that had been sitting there 2 days. This hotel is only suitable for hens and stags. definitely not worth €139 room only

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went for our honeymoon on August of this year. It was brilliant. Great staff and location. There is a church just beside it but honestly I didn't here any bell or noise in the morning. There was also a hen party. But they stayed at the bar. They didn't bother at all. Inside our room was really quiet.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just recently returned from here and while the hotel itself is quite nice and clean, the same can't be said of the clientele. This place seemed to be the hen party epicenter of Ireland. While i don't have a problem with hen parties in general or people who are out to enjoy themselves it becomes a bit of an irritation when you are trying to have a quiet drink or a meal and getting hassled while trying to mind your own business.

On several occasions we had to put up with girls screaming and shouting, throwing inflatable footballs around the hotel, hitting people with inflatable penises etc. with little or no regard to whom they mite offend.What made the situation even more surprising was that management seemed to witness some of this ridiculous behavior and did absolutely nothing about it.Not the sort of thing you would expect to find tolerated in a four star hotel...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suddyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance to everything in the core of the city. Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast and in-room wifi made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing