We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for one night! Hotel was in a perfect location. Rooms nice. Staff lovely! Bar food was really nice and tasty. Only two criticisms 1. They only had one lift working and took forever to go up and down you could be waiting upstairs for 10 minutes! Took the stairs most of the time! 2. The parking in hotel was very tight and was limited availability! But all in all I enjoyed my stay and will re visit this hotel when I visit Waterford again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdkelly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am pleased to see you found the rooms, staff and food to be particularly nice and also that you enjoyed our city center location. We did have some issues with one of our lifts which has now been rectified so apologies for the inconvenience. we do offer free on-site parking however this can be limited at peak times. Other parking options are available within walking distance @ €5.00 for 24 hours which is extremely reasonable.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, hotel is lovely - well decorated. Breakfast and dinner were lovely in the hotels restaurant.
When we arrived the remote didn't work for the television, when we went to ring reception to inform them, we found out the phone didn't work. When they moved us to a different room, we were moved to a floor which was being painted. There was a strong smell of paint in the hall however this did not bother us.
There isn't too much in the immediate area of the hotel, the main shopping street is about 5 - 7 min walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Pud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I am delighted you were impressed by our newly decorated hotel and equally delighted you enjoyed both dining experiences with us. Sorry to see that there were some issues with your room and that you had to be moved - as basic amenities to your room this situation should not have arisen and will be dealt with first hand - apologies for the inconvenience experienced. Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we sincerely hope to welcome you and yours again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford City.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great hotel with good modern rooms. Staff were very friendly and the food was good value for money and of a very high standard. The bar serves food all day or you can dine at the hotel restaurant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Good afternoon Alan,

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed every aspect of your visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel which is exactly the experience for our customers we strive to achieve. Thank you once again for your recommendations which are always greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and yours again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location and convenient parking. Rooms were good but could use a little updating. Hotel is within walking distance to many great pubs and the House of Waterford. A must stop is the Thomas Maher pub. Friendly staff and great history. Hotel bar was a great place to unwind after a long day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeboraB356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great hotel. Clean, central and very reasonably priced! (we were a party of six in three twin rooms b+b and also had a three-course meal in Chez K's all for €70 each) Would recommend it throughly! Thanks to Anne at the hotel for coordinating our booking!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is so convenient to train and bus stations. Just a short walk. We had a very smooth check-in with Jessica. Our rooms were as we requested. What comfortable beds. Plenty of storage space but would have appreciated one drawer. Bathroom had ample space and all the requirements. Whilst the shampoo and conditioner were appreciated a small bottle of body cream would not have gone amiss. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, only slight gripe - would have loved a little bit of cheese. Everything was cooked to perfection. Dinner in the restaurant was something else. Top class and excellent menu. The chef is to be highly commended and also Danny and his staff who treated us so well. Nothing was too much trouble. We loved our stay and only had one bad night - the Sat - when there was a lot of noise and commotion on our floor in the wee small hours and sleep was minimum. We found out the reason for this the next day. We visited the Waterford Crystal centre and had a very interesting tour there; the Bishops Palace and Medieval City; all beside each other. Excellent cafe at Medieval City with lots of choices. We took a train to Kilkenny and toured the Castle. Recommended. Another day, Sat, we went to Dungarvan by bus but were disappointed that the International Food Festival wasn't actually taking part until Sunday although advertising stated it was over three or four days. Maybe next year! Another place recommended for a meal is the La Fontana Italian Restauant Pizzeria on The Quay. Would definitely return to Fitzwilton again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you MUST visit Waterford, (keep in mind that most of the crystal is now manufactured in Slovakia), look around for better accommodations than the Fitzwilton. The free parking it provides is very convenient, but the rooms and service leave much to be desired. When we walked in the staff was standing around chatting it up. There was no effort to assist us with our bags.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hi Lucy,

thank you for your post and I am sorry to read you did not have a pleasant stay and also that you were not offered any assistance with your luggage upon check in. I am pleased you found the parking convenient but am sorry to see the rooms and service were not to your expectations. As there is no detailed information given on rooms or service I am afraid I am unable to comment further. Please do however feel free to contact me at gdawson@fitzwiltonhotel.ie should you wish to elaborate?

Thank you once again for taking the time to post.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Fitzwilton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $79 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing