We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby rooms and towels and decor has seen better days” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shabby rooms and towels and decor has seen better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would recommend this Hotel as a 3star one night only stay. Good value but certainly could do with improvements. Towels shabby, no tissues, tiny tv, shower curtain smelly, worn and scratched furniture and corridor smelt of smoke although i requested a smoke free room. Bar is nice and breakfast was ok. Not sure id go back unless i couldnt find anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheresaStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Theresa,

thank you for your comments. I am sorry to see your room was not up to standard. I am also dissappointed the corridor smelt of smoke. Our entire hotel is non - smoking though unfortunatley some people do break the rules at times which we do our best to manage. I am happy to see you enjoyed the bar and breakfast also.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    382
    261
    156
    99
See reviews for
208
608
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great. Im not sure about the 4 star rating though. While its clean, and we got a good deal on price, it just lacks a little something. The two times Ive stayed the bar area was very quiet indeed, its not like it was off season, one was over Chirstmas and the place was very quiet. The breakfast however was probably one of the best Ive eaten in any hotel. Very high quality food. The only real issue I had was the TV had no remote so couldnt turn it on (tired every possible manual intervention but not a sausage). So on way out that eve asked reception who said one would be dropped up. Upon return said remote was in room, but now it wouldnt operate the TV, it wasnt a big deal we just wanted to have some TV music while tucking into some takeaway food we brought back. Then we realised the very short and narrow sideboard has just one chair, the only other chair in the room was one of those tub chairs so dragged it over and felt a it was kind of slumming it in two odd chairs, on a sideboard about deep enough to hold two take away trays, while listening to music via my phone. C'mon guys, its says 4 star. Would a functional TV be too much to ask for? On leaving when brought up we got an "Im very sorry about that" - as a wise man once said, and where will I cash that thanks?
Maybe they knew we already got a good priced deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alzybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Alzy,

thank you for taking the time to comment. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and also that you availed of one of our many great deals. I will be happy to pass your comments to our chef regarding the best hotel breakfast you have eaten. I am very sorry to see the remote control did not operate the t.v and this should have been actioned for you straight away.

Thanks again for your very kind words and hopefully we will get to welcome you again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel on your next visit to Waterford.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Its proximity to the train station is its best feature, a very short walk and you're there. Free wi-fi is a total plus. Ours was a standard Room and was well appointed and bed very comfortable. Had breakfast there from their buffet service and it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laralalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello reviewer,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. Yes, we are a mere 2 minute walk from the citys main train and bus stations. We have recently heavily invested in our free wi-fi and now boast among the fastest service in the City. I am dleightd to see you were also satisfied with both your room and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very good middle-of-the road hotel. Not pretentious, good rooms, reasonable prices. What a hotel should be. Breakfast buffet good, and Waterford has great restaurants if you don't want dinner in.

Note: On the star-review below I've rated the swimmingpool and leisure centre as average - that's because they don't have one!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally good. No obvious noise or other issues in any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidIKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Laettu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to see it was a pleasent one. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast buffet and also our spacious rooms. I do hope you will chose the Fitzwilton Hotel on your next visit to Waterford City.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself & my Wife stayed here for two days and thought this was a really nice hotel.Got a great deal on internet and was not disappointed in any part of our stay.The rooms had plenty of space and the hotel was warm for winter not like some hotels i had ask for the heat to be switched on.The breakfast and dinner was very nice in the restaurant and staff were a pleasure to deal with.Would recommend this Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
HI Aidan,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is great to see you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, the spacious rooms, fine food and our very friendly staff. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

1. I really hate to negatively review anywhere so this is reluctantly done.
2. We came in for a simple bar snack at 17.15 when everything was quiet but didn't manage to escape til 19.00 hours.
3. Our first servings of everything (coffee, wrap, linguini with mussels, prawns amd parmesan shavings) were stone cold.
4. Second attempt produced very bitter over-stewed coffee, but hot!; odd veggie wrap with vinegary warm guacamole and oily salad leafs; and linguini without prawns or parmesan.
5. Half an hour later the linguini dish as per menu and assumptions (hot and with prawns and parmesan) was produced.
6. No reduction on the bill so asked to see the manager.
7. Charged for the main course (linguini) but not for the coffee or wrap.
Conclusion: There are a lot of places in Ireland that you can eat where you will experience better service, better value and better chefs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferelith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience .I am sorry to see however it was not a positive one. I have spoken with the chef on behalf of your comments and he has apologised that your dish was slightly cold. The coffee we provide is freshly perculated and their is no vinegar added to the guacamole. In addition, there was seven prawns in the dish upon serving and 4 upon return. I am glad to see you were offered a reduction on your bill, and once again apologise for the unsatisfactory dining experience you had with us.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I found an unbeatable special offer by this hotel which included a 2 night stay for 2, dinner on 1 night and breakfast for a very reasonable price. I found the location to be convenient and most of the staff at the hotel were very nice, the maid in particular. However, if you are looking for a 4 star experience I would not book this hotel. There were several problems that I would not consider to be acceptable in a hotel of this rating. First, there was a very prominent damage mark on the tv which made viewing difficult, there were faint brown stains on the towel in the bathroom, and the guest information book had been scribbled on almost all its pages by some previous guest's child. The toilet paper holder was missing from the wall in the bathroom, which was not equipped with a shower cap, body lotion, vanity kit, etc, and it looked generally worn down and old. There are also no spa/beauty services or leisure facilities in house, although there is a spa close by. If I had paid full price for the room I would have been disappointed but I was very happy overall with the deal. The breakfast and dinner was very nice in the restaurant and I would recommend dining there. Waterford City in general was great for the food, history, and interesting nightlife. Well worth a trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EricafromAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Property: Fitzwilton Hotel
Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing