We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff and Service - Nice hotel”
Review of Fitzwilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst on business in Waterford, all staff were very helpful and knowledgeable a credit to the Fitzwilton. The Hotel is tastefully decorated and rooms large and well fitted out. Breakfast had very good quality selection on buffet and both bar and restaurant meals nice. I left a shirt in my room upon departure and upon realising this contacted them and they posted on to me without hesitation, they really do have 5 star customer commitment

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to all staff concerned. In addition, I will pass your kind words to the kitchen team regarding the wonderful food for breakfast, bar and dinner. Customer commitment/service is number one on our list of priorities at the Fitzwilton Hotel and I am truly delighted to see you experience this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Fitzwilton Hotel.


Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice hotel , probably more a good 3 star than 4. Whole team were very friendly. My room was modern and clean with a comfortable bed.


Evening meal nice with prompt room service and tasted very fresh. I didn't Have time for breakfast but the porter kindly provided me with a great breakfast to go - much needed

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchester980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hello Manchester980,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to see as with many other reviewers you found our staff to be very friendly and am also happy to see you were satisfied with your room and facilities.

Thank you for dining in Restaurant Chez - K's and experiencing the great food and service. Gladly, you did not have to entirely miss breakfast next morning and I will pass your kind words to our porter who looked after your needs.

We hope to welcome you to the Fitzwilton Hotel again soon,

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was really looking forward to my stay in the Fitzwilton Hotel. I had checked out their website and the hotel looked lovely. Unfortunately I came away extremely disappointed.
The staff on check in and check out where lovely however the staff serving breakfast where rude and unenthusiastic to help. The breakfast was definitely not worth the price, there was no milk out, no butter, no cutlery and the layout of the hot food was particularly bad with staff barging through a 2 way door with hot trays of food and knocking into people who where queuing. There was a very small choice of food and anyone could've easily have walked in and ate as there was no one checking room numbers.
The rooms where small but clean enough however the mirror was missing off the wall-a must when it's a girly weekend!! The shower was dirty and the shower curtain was mouldy as it was plastic...glass door would be much better.

Above might sound a bit finicky but when its your 1st night away with the girls after having a baby you just want to enjoy every minute.

Would be very reluctant to return and don't think I'll be recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleMissSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear reviewer,

I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us on your recent visit to Waterford City. I will happily pass your kind words to our receptionists however. I am surprised to see you found the waiting staff rude as you can see form all previous reviews they are highly praised for their friendliness. I am also to see you found there to be little choice at breakfast as we offer a full hot breakfast buffet, plus breads, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc..

I am sorry to see you will not be returning or recommending us to your colleagues.

Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback as it is greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Keen for a night away, we thought we would have a family night away in Waterford. I have no idea how this hotel has ended up on any "Hippest" list, as its a fairly typical 3 star hotel, similar to the likes of Jurys Inn. Nothing hip about it! However the staff were friendly, the cribs etc that were set up for our 3 year old and new born was exactly what we had pre-arranged (something that is so very basic but hotel still seem to find so hard to accomplish) and our room was big enough to comfortably fit the whole family.

We didn't eat or drink here, but the bar looked comfortably busy on a Saturday night.

I'm not sure we will have a need to stay in Waterford again, but if we did find ourselves here again, then I would be more than happy to stay at the Fitzwilton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenfoldMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted to see you found your room and facilities large and comfortable for your family and also that your crib was set up as requested and expected.I am sorry to see you did not get to eat or drink in the Hotels Met Bar or Restaurant Chez - K's during your visit.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and hopefully you will get to visit Waterford City again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having recently stayed here for a two night "Warning Break" I would suggest the warning means don' bother!! On check-in I was requested to pay in full, even though we hadn't even seen the room at that stage. Our break included a bar meal on one night which was very dissapointing, no choice and poor service, on the positive side breakfast was quite good.
If the hotel is going to advertise itself as 4* it has a lot of work to do, during our stay, one or other of the lifts were out of order all the time, the bedroom was dark and dreary with filthy windows and very worn net curtains, the carpets throughout were worn and dirty, and the whole hotel needs a paint job. The website is very flattering!! We wont be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfi513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had read the reviews on various sites and while it was just a 'one night' stay I wanted something very satisfactory. Four star it isn't. If you're going with the wooden table top, sink surround etc, at least sand the surface regularly to remove water stains and general wear and tear. Food wise, I had anticipated being impressed. The 10 oz steak at a pricey 19euro was just average, cooked medium rare as requested but the fat rind hadn't been caramelised-basic faux pas!! The @handcut' fries were barely on the acceptable side of cooked and given that the roasted tomatoes and deep-fried onions were the only accompaniments, three small slices of the latter and four cherry tomatoes didn't exactly overwhelm my appetite. The 'French Apple Tart' a sliver, at 4.95 and didn't come warm, as I had requested. However breakfast was the biggest letdown. A very shoddy selection of fruit, no jams or marmalades on the table and as for the 'hot buffet', tepid would be a charitable description. Baby sauteed potatoes which were not remotely crisp and reeked of 're-heating': mushrooms swimming in liquid and as for the bacon, extremely anaemic and unappealing. The bedroom was fine but the remote control for the tv wasn't fully operational, the volume function was unresponsive. The ensuite didn't measure up either. The absence of a face flannel, shower cap and the fact that one couldn't but think that the hand towels had long since passed their 'fluffiness' all meant that this wasn't an experience I'd be in a hurry to repeat.I've had better experiences in 3 star places.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discerning68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just back from a nights stay in hotel. First impressions were good location, friendly and helpful staff. The interior was modern but the hotel needs serious deep clean, nothing that a good scrub to carpets Walls etc won't do. The general housekeeping I felt was poor while the rooms are tastefully decorated they standard of cleanliness is poor eg dirty carpets, coffee stains on furniture not to 4 star standard. But the food was excellent, could not recommend the food enough. Great value evening meal and breakfast was lovely, piping hot. OVerall it's a lovely hotel with great location but the hotel becoming grubby unnecessarily and its a shame.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seanciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $73 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing