We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and overly expensive unimaginative food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack Meade's Pub

Jack Meade's Pub
Ranked #1 of 26 Nightlife in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor service and overly expensive unimaginative food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had heard great things about Jack Meades pub so on our way back to Faithlegg Hotel via Tramore, we decided to drop in for lunch. We pulled into the car park and entered the building at the rear of the original pub. The decor is basic at best, big open spaces, lots of wood and high stools. On entry to the establishment we ordered a salmon & crab salad and a goats cheese salad. The girl took our order and left us standing at the till. We thought this unusual but proceeded on into the main bar area and found a place to sit. No one in the bar and no one came near us to enquire if we wanted a drink. After about 20 minutes the salads arrived and we asked for a drink at that point. The smoked salmon was crispy round the edges and the "salad" consisted of lettuce & peppers with a sprinkling of tasteless olive oil. My wifes salad consisted of a huge amount of lettuce plenty of peppers and 1 quarter slice of tomato. Both salads were priced at €10.50 and lacked imagination - what about onion? cucumber? more tomato? grated carrot? anything really to give this limp offering a bit of flavour and interest. Overall, very disappointing from the food and service point of view. Would not go back and definitely would not recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    21
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a tour, one of the attractions was to visit an irish pub and listen to some irish music. We visited Jack meade's pub with mc and singer Tom and the bartender and singer Ronan. I thought that this was one of the highlights of the trip, Tom was amusing and interesting as he told the history of the pub and sang the Irish songs as Ronan tended to the bar. Ronan then also sang - both were wonderful, the night terrific! recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Not a great venue. Avoid for family events”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a family wedding on Friday and they said they would have the next day meet up at jack meade's. it was a very disappointing experience and the food was not great. It's been along time since I been out here and the food, service and staff have changed allot an the place is not a good venue. The food platters which wasn't cheap was late coming out and the selection on then was bad. No sauce with the platters. The dj also started late. The bride and groom was told different times when booking and when they arrived they were told different times. The drink spent by our family would be very very good but the staff wasn't evening friend. Avoid for events

Helpful?
Thank Hallie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We felt welcomed as soon as we walked in. The bartender visited with us several times when he had a lull. We really felt that we were in Ireland at a place where locals frequent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank maf0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The old pub is very cute for a drink. Great fire to warm up with a pint! I'd avoid the main area outside....not the same experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exploring365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Meade's Pub also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Jack Meade's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing