We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly host / hostess”
Review of Dunroven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunroven B&B
Ranked #14 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Dunroven was our 3rd and final B & B stop on our trek through Southern Ireland. Paul and Breda were very good hosts!! Our ensuite room (#4) had a comfortable double bed. The room and the bathroom were very clean.

We had a rental car and had already been to the Waterford Crystal Factory and the City Center before arriving at the B & B. Breda was able to recommend a great pub just down the road for dinner. We were in fairly early for the night, which was a change from our previous stops. This place felt more like someone's home than any place else - we could hear the phone and the doorbell ringing and Paul and Breda answering both!!

Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of hot and cold dishes. The hosts were very helpful in showing us the best route from Waterford to Powerscourt.

Overall, it was a very good stay. I would note that their schedule seemed a little more stringent than other B & B's. We were given a check-in window of 4 - 6 and if we were going to be later than that, they asked that we notify them. Also, breakfast hours were earlier than other B & B's we stayed in during the week, as was check-out. None of this bothered us in the least (we are a very low-maintenance couple!), but I thought I should mention it for those looking for more flexibility. Also, I don't think they take credit cards anymore. We were using package vouchers and they did honor those.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lojo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Dunroven B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2008

This was our first B&B experience and it was a great one. Paul and Breda have a beutiful place with clean/adequately sized rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, located in a quiet area, and very reasonably priced. For those who need it, wireless internet is also available - something we did not get at one of the pricier B&B's. I would recommend them to anyone I know. *****

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sulli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We were greeted by Breda, who e-mailed me before we got there reminding me it was a bank holiday. We had a wonderful stay and she directed us to a great pub to eat at. Also the next morning the breakfast was wonderful Pancakes were great!! I will stay there again when I go back .

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Lisha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We were greeted by such a friendly woman, Breda Power. She gave us directions to a wonderful pub with music in the town, as well as bus directions. She made several calls to find us a B&B for the next 2 nights in Killarney. She thought to offer a haridryer, rather than my having to ask later. Nice accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkenn1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Good breakfasts. About a five-ten minute drive to Waterford. Close to Factory. Very Clean.

My only complaint is that cleaning of rooms started at about 8:30 and even though check out was 10, we felt we needed to be on our way as soon as possible to get out of the way. This was my feeling, and was in NO way implied by our hostess. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

We have stayed at Dunroven three times. It is the best B&B in Ireland. Dunroven is just a ten minute walk from the Waterford Crystal factory and short bus ride to city center. It is a comfortable house with warm and friendly hosts. An excellent breakfast menu is offered with a schedule that allows for some flexibility in the morning. The Powers' have always greeted us with a very warm welcome and made us feel right at home. We have stayed in many other B&Bs throughout Ireland. Dunroven is by far the best!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Spent 2 great nights here and really enjoyed out stay. Nice room, good breakfast and great company. We enjoyed our time here and really relaxed. Waterford is a good place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jollygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.6 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,194 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Barley Field
The Barley Field
#11 of 24 in Waterford
133 reviews
4.1 mi away
Samuels Heritage B&B
Samuels Heritage B&B
#2 of 24 in Waterford
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Diamond Hill Country House
1.6 mi away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Adel B&B
Adel B&B
#6 of 24 in Waterford
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunroven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunroven B&B

Address: Ballinaneesagh | Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range: $36 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunroven B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing