We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly,good food, relaxed atmosphere, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
County Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Family friendly,good food, relaxed atmosphere, great value”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here this weekend. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating..we had emailed ahead and they had a lovely quiet room organised for us as we were travelling with a newborn.
The atmosphere was very relaxed, the barfood was good & breakfast yummy with fresh fruit & pasteries as well as the hot buffet.
Overall a great value hotel just a few minutes drive from the city centre :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Gerrie9,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad that we made the visit as comfortable as possible, for your whole family.
We pride ourselves on our service and try to create a home from home experience for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    163
    120
    29
    30
See reviews for
91
209
18
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here last week in one of the executive rooms, which was finished to a high standard and a very comfortable stay. The food served here was to a high standard with plenty of menu choice, so it should suit everyone. Breakfast was a joy, one of the best that I have had in a while.
The other added bonus of my stay here was the free parking and also the customer service was excellent. I would definitely recommend a stay there. It will suit business trips as well as family trips due to its easy location and excellent facilities which cater for all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear sunnyi,
thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm so glad to hear that you found the hotel and the facilities so comfortable and that the food and service was so enjoyable. The best breakfast you have had in a long time is a great compliment to receive.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Waterford Viking Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic hotel for two nights (next time it will be longer!!) for work. Food was lovely, as was the service - breakfast and dinner on the two nights. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed to hand. The staff were ever pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen462013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Helen462013,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad to hear that we made your business trip as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We pride ourselves on going that extra mile for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I live localy and pass by the hotel a lot for work. I find the hotel well located for having good food and getting back on the road. I had a sirloin steak this week and to be fair it was the best I have had anywhere in a long while. And as always there is no messing with the service, from great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Pat M,
thank you much for taking the time to review the food and service at the Viking Hotel Waterford, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal on your recent visit.
The free ample car parking is certainly a plus for us, and many visitors remark on how it makes life so much easier, whether they are visiting for a meal or meeting or even staying over night.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were a group of golfers over to try some of the great golf courses in the Waterford area.

From the check-in to departure the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, The rooms were great as was the food and the bar was a very welcoming place to come back to after a long day.

Excellent location for the main roads and for the short journey into town to explore.

Would be happy to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear reesdavid
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Viking Hotel Waterford. I'm glad to hear that you and your fellow golfers availed of some many good courses in the Waterford area, and as you mentioned we are certainly well placed for quick access to them, being so close to the motor way exits.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again, on your next visit to Waterford.

Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Viking Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked with Livingsocial for 1 night and got bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine if dining in the restaurant for €49, great value. There was no late checkout included but on request it was no problem whatsoever, the beds are comfortable and rooms spacious. If I had 1 complaint it could be that 1 or 2 of the staff could have been a little friendlier but overall a nice and pleasant stay and would travel here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeeD901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear LeeD901
thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Viking Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found the hotel good value for money and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our food, which we take pride in.
We hope that you will come back and visit us again in Waterford. There are a number of great festivals and events coming up which you might also enjoy, like the Winterval Festival, from the end of November.
Kind regards
Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here on Saturday night and the hotel is just fab. It's only classed as a 3 star but the service and food are definitely 5 star! From the minute we checked in until check out you couldn't find fault with the hotel. We had dinner in the bar on Saturday night and it was divine and the atmosphere was brilliant. A special mention to Aoife who served us in the bar Saturday and was working again for breakfast on Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bababet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aideen123_13, Director of Sales at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bababet77,
thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. I've passed your compliments to Aoife, she was very pleased. We do hope to welcome you back again to Waterford, perhaps during one of the many festivals we have coming up. Winterval is running from the end of November and is the foremost Christmas festival in Ireland. Well worth a visit!
Thanks again for your positive comments.
Aideen Murphy
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing