We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viking Hotel Waterford
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
$159
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
158
191
133
34
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
191
133
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrering roadbar foodweekend breakreception stafftwo nightswould stay againbuffet breakfastminute drivefew drinksfriday nightlovely roomlovely hotelself serviceone night stayevening mealdealership
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 549 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I just got back yesterday from our stay. Had a great time, amazing hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly. A bit far from city we were sorry we didn't bring our own car but taxi prices were very reasonable. Although it has no leisure center, he lovely woman at the desk offered us complimentary use of the woodlands hotel leisure center which I thought was very helpful. We had a few drinks in the downstairs bar which again was great and we met the wonderful barman Ronan, who was so friendly and gave us a quick run through of what we could do in the city. The room was the executive suite which was so fresh and clean. The bed was fantastic, could of spent my whole weekend in it! Bathroom was spotless. We had brutal wi-fi connections in the room but it was expected being so far up. We had breakfast the Saturday morning which was lovely and cost us €10 each for a full irish. It was buffet which I thought was great as they had every choice of food and drinks available. All in all we couldn't fault the hotel. Had a great stay, will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda W, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Melsmama,
Thank you for a very comprehensive appraisal of the Waterford Viking Hotel which I was delighted to read.
With 100 quiet Rooms, 3 different Menus, 5 Conference Rooms within a few minutes drive of the city centre; this Hotel has alot to be very proud of, and we certainly are.
All our bar and restaurant staff are local people who are only delighted to be asked to share local knowledge and stories with both the holiday maker and the business traveller.
The Bed and Bedroom, the Buffet Breakfast, the variety of Local Produce in all menus and the Value for Money are all important details that form our much appreciated product,
Thanking you and please call again,
Your Sincerely,
Imelda Walsh
General Manager
The Waterford Viking
Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Simple hotel. Very friendly staff. We stayed in a lovely room, quite spacious, found it very warm, until i learnt there was a thermostat haha. hotel was very child friendly. lovely bar food food. breakfast was self service and staff bever let anything run out. one morning the breakfast room was shortstaffed so tables took longer to clear and tea and coffee were, but overall had a pleasant visit and would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013. The hotel is not the most appealing from the front, however, it was nice inside. Rooms were basic, however the food was fabulous in the restaurant, and breakfast the next morning too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

arrived early,room not ready,friendly receptionist ordered tea,and assured us room would not be long.room was excellent,spotless,bed very comfy.in general very well equipped.cooked breakfast good,bar food of good standard.staff all very pleasant and friendly.would come back.keep it up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbird144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Bigbird144
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed last weekend in the Viking and I have to say great value for your money. Was asked on arrival if we want to upgrade to an executive room for 10 euro extra per night. We did. Lovely room. There is no evening restaurant but I have to say the bar food was really great. Had Barbarie Duck Breast was delicious. The price €15.95 and ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio for € 15. Was sceptic about cheap wine but it was a quality wine. Staff friendly and service was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mur1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Mur1975
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the recently upgraded executive rooms. Normally I would agree with you about cheaper wines, but we believe that good wines should also be good value.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Eoghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews