We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Food was amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viking Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Food was amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on weekend 1st february!. Hotel was a little hard to find as it didnt seem to be covered on our sat nav. Anyway, the room was bright, modern, spacious, airy and spotlessly clean. In fact the whole hotel was spotlessly clean The bar food was amazing! We ate here everyday as the food was really tasty. We could not fault the food at all. We had tried the salmon, steak, stir fries, deep fried brie etc and all were cooked to perfection and at very reasonable prices to our astonishment. The greatest asset the Ramada Viking Hotel has is their chef!! would travel to the Ramada just for the food!! The only down side is that its a little far from the city centre of waterford but reception was only to happy to order us taxi when needed. Overall, we had a lovely stay. If your in waterford and looking for good quality food that is reasonably priced then stop off here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Jacqueline S
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the food and the excellent value.
Hopefully it won't be too long before your next visit, please keep an eye on our website for our special offers.
Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    151
    112
    27
    28
See reviews for
86
193
16
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed her last month , had stayed here a few years ago and what a change
and not for the better , hotel needs to paint the corridors clean the carpets , fixed the damaged
tiles in the bathroom, reception staff pleasant ,cant say the same for the bar and breakfast staff
even the food which was fanstatic on last visit breakfast had been awesome
was a huge disapointment , A lot of work needed to get back to where it was

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank davidKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear davidkerry
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager and team. If you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay in more detail with you.
Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi stayed at the ramada hotel on the 2/11/12 for 2 nights got there a bit late cause was a bit hard to find when we arrived the girl on reception was very pleasant and helpful, however we got the key to our room which was clean and comfy, but there was a slight odyr in the hallway unexplained odur like the carpet or a musty smell, breakfast was nice overall a bit off the beaten track as its more for conferences but staff were nice, but do get those carpets cleaned !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineday35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Caroline, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the Hotel to be comfy and staff friendly. Sorry about the carpets odour but we were doing exactly as you are suggesting, deep cleaning the carpets as part of our winter maintenance program. Hoping you will visit Waterford again soon, maybe for the Winterval festival. Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winterton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Ramada Viking on 22/23/10/12. Previously stayed last year. Then the review was
5 star. This visit was very disappointing inasmuch as it took three tries to get a quiet room.
Room was fine but the TV was out the ark. The corridor carpet was in an appalling state as though a herd of rubgy types in muddy boots had wrestled in it. One pitied the poor trying
to clean it. Staff are still very pleasant but Management really should sort out cosmetics as
these are the fount of first (and last) impressions.
k

Room Tip: Keep trying the rooms until you get what you want - either that or move
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear winterton
I’m sorry you didn’t like the first two rooms, we at the Ramada Viking Hotel never like hearing when a guest doesn’t enjoy their stay. So if you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay with you.
Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here in August. I found the hotel well run. It's staff friendly. The rooms are basic enough but clean. Hated the tv though. Breakfast is a buffet & fills you up with the usual menus. Won't complain as I only stayed one night. Not sure if I'd stay longer as it's a bit far out of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franfield68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear franfield68, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found the Hotel to be great value and well managed. Hoping you will visit Waterford again soon, maybe for the Winterval festival. Regards Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here December 2011 i think and got a great dealt was 30 euro for the room for the nIght, most places would be 30per person sothis was good..
The food in the bar was like most pub grub does the job, I found there was one woman who didn't really like going out of her way for the customer she seemed very snappy and slammed my plate down, and when I said she'd got my Order wrong, she was very un pleasant.. Saying this there was other waitresses and waiters and they were so lovely !!
The room was nice and everything as most hotel rooms, nothing to fancy either.
The location of this hotel is a bit far from the city like don't stay if your going Down for the night life because it's far off and you'll pay for it Ina taxi..
Also they didn't have a gymor pool but I'll mark them as average to be fair..
But I would recommend this hotel to anyone if they brought that deal back into place because they've since took it away !

Room Tip: We got a room facing the car park and that was fine I know the motor way is arou d it some side I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joggaboo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Joggaboo92

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, I’m glad that you enjoyed the great value and keep an eye out for those fabulous rates, they’ll be back soon !!

Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed one night. The room was basic, bed was uncomfortable, we had an air conditioning unit outside our window that screeched constantly, no sleep and a headache. We had afternoon tea in the restaurant on arrival, cups, milk jug, tea pot everything was filthy dirty, it was disgusting. Next morning went to have our breakfast which was included in the price, very unorganized, one girl working on a Sunday morning in a hotel. again even the tea pots had encrusted dirt on them, food was pretty bad and not much of a selection but we didnt eat much anyway because it was so dirty.
Will never recommend or stay there again, needs a complete change of cleaning staff to say the least.
On checkout the girl on reception asked how was our stay we said terrible as we were exhausted because we got no sleep she said sorry and walked away !!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michellemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan D, General Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Michellemcl
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, we at the Ramada Viking Hotel never like hearing when a guest doesn’t enjoy their stay. So if you don’t mind would you please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay with you.
Regards
Eoghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Property: Viking Hotel Waterford
Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing