We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels should be for sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had reserved two rooms (a single and a double)- no triples were available through the site we had booked through. When we checked in they had assigned us two triples. They would not let us cancel one of the rooms. So we went ahead and spread out thinking we would get a better night sleep that way anyway.
We were on the first floor almost on the opposite end from the lobby where a group of girls were having a party. As the night went on they got louder and moved their party into and up and down the hall. My husband spoke to them a couple times and called the front desk. Nothing was done. We got about 2 hours of sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room- away from events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 532 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Sufficient parking space. Spacious room and bathroom, which is neat, clean and comfortable. They provide everything you need in the room. Friendly staff, who gives us a free town map of Waterford. Tesco is around 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiangruHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend away. Hotel is a bit outside the city centre on the Cork Road. There are hotels for the same rates in Waterford nearer the centre. Hotel is a bit dated with stains on the carpets and walls etc. The room was cleaned each day. Tea/Coffee facities in the room and the cooked breakfast buffet was very good. There was music in the bar on Saturday night. Staff were friendly. The hotel has no control over this but the smell was foul from once we arrived - could not open the windows. The hotel is near agricultural land and the farmer had spread pig slurry that morning. Again, no fault of the hotel's but if you have a sqeamish stomach I wouldn't recommend staying there, as I said in the start there are hotels nearer the city centre with similar rates.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMcC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews this hotel is on the outskirts of Waterford amongst car dealerships. We knew this and chose it as we were heading to Cork the next day and preferred to be on the outskirts.
It is a clean and pleasant hotel with not much atmosphere but I couldn't fault it other than walls that were on the thin side.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a joint 21st here and it was absolutely amazing. The staff were incredible and made our night so special, they could not have done more. the food on the night was beautiful and all the guests that had stayed the night loved the breakfast, there was so much to choose from.We stayed over night and the rooms were lovely. They were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. I will definitely be staying there again!! Cant thank them enough!

Room Tip: Everybody that i was talking to told me all the rooms were perfect!! What more could you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shan-shan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed here for one night. The rooms were clean and standard, everything you would expect from a business hotel. Breakfast was satisfying, with a good Irish layout. The staff was helpful with my questions, although Internet connectivity in the rooms was spotty (none of us had wireless in the rooms, and the wired Ethernet jacks were hit and miss... my colleague's jacks worked, but mine did not). There is wireless in the lobby. Not an exciting hotel, but convenient. It's about a €10-11 cab fare to the centre of town.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Zharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

rooms were spotless
complementry newspapers
sky movies on the room tv which was a bonus

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.9 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $64 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing