We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof top garden”
Review of The Reg

The Reg
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 185 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This exciting new dining scene in the hub of Waterford's Viking Triangle is a concept based on local, fresh, simple, honest and seasonal food with bursts of flavor. So whether you are with friends, clients or on a night out, this casual dining experience is always a good choice.Our venue boasts a Seafood Restaurant, GastroPub, Craft Beer Bar, Whiskey Bar, Late night bar and night club and Waterford's only stunning Rooftop Cafe Bar and Restaurant overlooking the River Suir and Reginald's Tower. With live music every night of the week. The Reg Waterford is the perfect spot for your eating and entertainment needs.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Reg is very interesting in the sense it has a rooftop seating area. This looks over the Reginalds Tower and commands a good view of the river. The only thing I did not enjoy was the people next to me were smoking and not using the ashtray! I ended up having to leave ans the prevailing winds kept throwing the smoke into my face! The rest of the Reg had some interesting features including a snug that took you back in time to the 1800s. I have yet to try the food, but on my next visit, I will look into having a meal there:)

Thank Blue20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRegWaterford, Manager at The Reg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

We try to leave the bottom terrace as the smoking allocated area and top terrace as the non smoking area, but we also try to accommodate all our customers needs. We provide ashtrays on all our outside tables, but we can not control human behavior and make people use them – we can only hope that they will.
We are sorry you were inconvenienced by the smoke, but hope the next time you visit you try some food and we will try to sit you away from any second hand smoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 677 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great service from excellent staff...Tremendously talented musicians who covered all musical genres..
well done to Andrew and "Lebowski".

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

It's rare to find a place that caters for vegans at a moment notice, besides vegan/vegetarian restaurants. At the Reg the staff couldn't do more for me. Nothing on the menu really suited my vegan and gluten-free diet. The waitering staff on the both occasions we had lunch there hopped off to the kitchen and came back with a chickpea and veg stew, followed by roasted pineapple dessert. We were thrilled. Both were delicious and the presentation look very appetising. Great place, food and staff, can't wait to go back.

Here is our blog post which has more about it in detail and some photos too. http://herbicarni.com/reviews/reg…-very-pleasant-culinary-surprise-waterford

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BelmontTonyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRegWaterford, Manager at The Reg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

What an amazing write up in your blog. We appreciate all the nice things you said about our food and amazing location, we always try to accommodate all our customers especially those with special dietary requirements and our glad that our serving staff looked after you so well. We really hope that you will come and try something new the next time you can visit. Any suggestions for more vegan options will be warmly welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Recently went for a meal in the Reg, there were 5 of us including 2 vegetarians. staff were very friendly and efficient, and food was very good, I had the pulled pork bap it was lovely only, a little watery leading to the bottom of the bap being soggy... I would recommend that more vegetarian options are added to the menu as the 2 vegetarians only had 2 options, pasta and an omelette. previous to this i was here with a large group and had the steak sandwich... it was AMAZING!! will definitely return to the reg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anitan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRegWaterford, Manager at The Reg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our delicious pulled pork bap, we agree they are lovely. Thank you for your recommendation about more vegetarian options, we take all our customers comments on board and we hope you can drop in again sometime and try one of our vegetarian options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

After a lovely meal at the Munster Bar, we decided to go to The Reg for an Irish coffee.

I didn't think there was a nice atmosphere in the pub, in fact, after our drink we had no desire to stay and have another one, and the Irish coffee was without cream!
Now, perhaps they don't serve it that way, perhaps they didn't have any cream left, but they should have understood that as tourists that was what we were expecting and should have provided an explanation.
We had been thinking of booking to eat at the restaurant the following day, but this experience put us off.
By the way, Irish coffee without the cream is awful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank TurinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRegWaterford, Manager at The Reg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

We sell a lot of Irish Coffees every day, so we ensure that we always have a supply of fresh cream. We have always stocked cream due to high demand in Irish coffees, scones with jam and cream and many of our dishes have cream used in them. We were training in a lot of staff at them time and they might not of known to add the cream, we do apologise your Irish coffee didn't have cream. We assure you that all our staff are fully trained and know how to make a perfect Irish coffee. If you ever drop in again please do try another and let us know what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reg also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to The Reg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing