We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of any restaurant I've been to this year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of any restaurant I've been to this year!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in hotels all over the country on business, I was dreading another hotel dinner. The Athenaeum however has a restaurant to rival any of the top restaurants in Dublin. I would give it top marks for food, presentation, ambience and service. As a hotel, the beds could do with updating, the bathroom was clean, modern and had good water pressure. The conference facilities also seem quite good. I would
definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airhead8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
74
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a wonderful quiet hotel to spend the first few nights of our vacation after a long flight from the US. Our room was very nice, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable we've slept in and the room was very warm for a late September stay. The staff was exceptional, food and service great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltwatersheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my second time staying in the Athenaeum, I previously stayed 3 years ago. The staff there are amazing, really kind and helpful. My gripes were that the hotel was way too warm for the time of year and the beds and bedding had seen better days. My bed in the twin room was sagging in the middle and I had to flip the mattress over on the second night. Also the sheets were very frayed, plus when the housekeeping staff came in on the second day, they never put replacement toilet paper - thankfully, there were tissues in the bathroom!! We had breakfast on both days and an evening meal in the restaurant where some family joined us. The two staff on duty included the manager and they couldn't do enough for us, they were very attentive and the food was gorgeous. We were there for a family occasion in Waterford, though didn't have children with us. However, we were joined one night by a baby and he was well accommodated. I love the location as it is quiet and off the beaten track - no horrible noisy stags or hens that you would get with the city centre hotels!

Hopefully they will be able to sort out their bedding issues! I would stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherineesmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A little far from the sights and restaurants, but very pleasant grounds. Helpful staff and a great place to get a big pile of laundry done. We only had one night, but they did it in the morning while we went off to the museums. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived at this Hotel expecting a pleasant stay. We were given the "Bridal Suite". We were thinking how lucky we were for getting an upgrade. The room was like a cave. The walls were blue/black paint - very dark and dreary. It was very warm there but opening the windows only let flies in. The room was dirty - carpet, windows, etc. and we found trash in the waste basket from the previous guests. There were airplane boarding passes with people's names on them from 3 days prior to our check-in date!! The TV remote didn't work. The hair dryer was bolted to a desk drawer out in the sitting area of the room. And this was the most expensive hotel of our 10 day trip down the east coast of Ireland. Truly surprised and disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small quality hotel that very clean and comfortable. Best of all is because it's a small hotel the staff very quickly get to know you what you like. They are also very polite and very friendly and can't do enough to make sure your stay is perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Burfield-Wallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are well appointed with all of the amenities. The restaurant staff is as professional as I have ever seen. They were extremely friendly. The food was excellent and the presentation was awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stangerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing