We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed for four nights with my parents who are not very mobile. Noel was so helpful and arranged ground floor rooms with easy access to car park and disabled ramp. All staff were very friendly and Kelly was helpful when directions were needed. Nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is modern and stylish but homely and run very efficiently. We enjoyed the sun terrace to relax and enjoy a cool drink from the bar after a day sight seeing. Would recommend and hope to return. Breakfasts very good. Restaurant excellent.

Room Tip: Good disabled access. Ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandrasharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Sandrasharp

Thank you for taking the time to post review, I passed your compliments on to Noel, Kelly and the rest of the Team, all were delighted.

Good to hear you enjoyed your time with your parents at the Athenaeum House Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you all back.

Best wishes

Mailo
Mailo Power
Director Athenaeum House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Athenaeum House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 538 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Large room, comfortable bed, we could see the river through our window and had armchairs from which to view it. We ate dinner, tea and breakfast in the hotel and all was delicious. A short drive from some lovely beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManlyRise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We chose this hotel for a large family reunion and couldn't have been better looked after, the food was excellent and the staff very efficient and very friendly, even under some trying circumstances, we would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed there for a night last week. Had a lovely room at the back of the hotel. Got chocolates and a 'Best wishes' message left in my room as it was my birthday which was a nice touch.. Had drinks on the terrace with views to Reginalds Tower. Then we had a lovely meal in Zaks Bistro. Food was very good. All of the staff were really friendly and efficient. Nice quiet place to stay near the city. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: A room at the back is nicer , but its a very peaceful spot anyway.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A restored georgian house in a beautiful quiet location. We had a very relaxing stay over the August bank holiday weekend while the Spraoi street festival was on in Waterford. Staff and service was very friendly and professional. The food was excellent. It really is a hidden gem and I would highly recommend the Athenaeum for anyone looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BibaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We selected this hotel based on the price and the fact that is it a 4 star hotel. We booked this on the spur of the moment. We weren't sure about the hotel when we looked at the website photos. The room was excellent with a georgan window looking out onto grenery and a view of the estuary. The restaurant was the biggest surprise with really excellent food. It is quite a small hotel but very well appppointed.

Room Tip: Book the restaurant on arrival
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank declan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed last night (the 6th August) for our wedding anniversary. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future. Many thanks to all who made our 25th so lovely

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carmarDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $66 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing