We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athenaeum House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
251
158
89
36
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
158
89
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantwaterford cityacross the riverquiet locationshort drivelovely hotellarge roomfull irishsaturday nightcourse mealvisiting waterfordcar parkstancarrieirelandsuirduvet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 559 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2007

I stayed in the hotel from the 13th to the 15th October 2007. I have to say that from the check in to the check out everything was fantastic. Staff is wonderful, rooms beautiful and management present at any time. The german manager has a perfect attitude and you can feel like at home!

GO THERE!!!!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Galway1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

A strange mixture. The approach is disconcerting; past an industrial estate, Power's Funeral Home and some less-than-classy housing. You arrive at the back door.However, the setting itself is very fine, with the front of the hotel overlooking the river and the city waterfront opposite. The terrace gives on to a lawn which seems to prter out into nothing before you get to the river.

The decor was a strange mix. Purpose-made., monogrammed carpets and institutional wallpaper. Nicely chosen room fittings and satellite TV but tired and a bit battered. The very nice bathroom let down by taps that weren't properly fixed and a shower fitting that was similarly loose.

The restaurant was a real plus. Excellent food, friendly efficient and knowledgeable service from my Bavarian waitress and a very good wine list. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I've had the opportunity to sample this hotel on more than six occasions , staying three and dining three. I could have sent this review earlier , so apologies!
It has a peaceful , serene location. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, with nice amenities major asset , however is the hands-on involvement of the owners and their ability to hand pick their staff , all of which have a wonderful individual way about them , nothing is ever too much trouble.
Zak's is , without doubt the better dining option in the city.
The cooking is assured and accomplished (nice wine list too).
I can truly say on my six visits I've only had good meals and the restaurant has beautiful views , winter or summer.

Now I'm off to Paris for a few days , sampling Ducasse-Constant and Piege three great chefs , wish me luck!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Camarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The location is great, very peaceful and overlooking the river. The room was good - clean and airy with tasteful decour (not my taste but still good!)

The food was excellent - with great wine list and fantastic cheese! Best meal in Ireland.

The only downside with this hotel is it's much further out of town than I thought when booking - hotels.com said 1Km which might have been true as the crow flies, but you have to go about 2-3K to reach town...

But the taxi's are cheap and they know where the hotel is - but like me can't pronounce it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewizeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Positives:
Lovely place, mix of old and new. Nice decor and location by the river. Great staff, friendly and helpful.

Negatives:
Evening meal looked great on the plate, but was totally tasteless and cold...soup also cold and tasteless. desert was only so so. Recommended house wine was nothing special.
Bed was lumpy and hard.. pillows ditto...threadbare sheets..didn't sleep a wink !!. The bed was a major letdown.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vipera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews