We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights and on arrival we found out that the Car park was quite a walking distance away. We were given the Key Card and sent to the First floor. The room we were given was immediately as you stepped out of the lift. We opened the door to find What looked like a Single room, it smelled of smoke with a very small double bed and old furnishings. The bed looked like a bananna, we closed the door and went back to reception to ask for a decent room as we also had a 3 yr old child with us. The reception staff were quite rude about the request to change but eventually made us feel priveliged and to be grateful to be given a room in "The New Block" Block B, which we were given a map to find... very badly designed Hotel.

The use of the internet cost E1 for 8 minutes so I asked the girl that we had checked in with on reception would it be possible to rent a wireless keypad to use on the T.V/ Screen in our "Corporate Room" as it was called.. She told me that all the keypads had been hired out to guests and that there were more" Foreign People "arriving the next day, so my chances of getting one were slim and none... Very Strange answer I thought from a suppose to be helpful receptionist, far from it.

The bar was dirty, and what I couldn't believe was some of the female Guests having breakfast in their Pyjamas in the dining room.. Surely there should be some dress code.
We only had breakfast there as it was included in our deal... Dishes not clean... food still stuck to the plates. We ate in Dooleys Hotel which was just a short walk away and a Very nice Hotel. Beautiful Food. A world of difference between the Days (Traceys Hotel) and Dooleys. Would never in my wildest dreams go back to this hotel and wouldn't dream of reccomending it to anyone I know either.. My advice is ......This Hotel is To be Avoided.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    314
    152
    101
    154
See reviews for
276
341
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I would just like to outline that this hotel was not booked by myself directly. It was one of the many hotels on my Trafalgar Tour of the UK and Ireland

I am glad I did not book this place myself as I would have been angry with myself for doing so

I understand Waterford is only a smaller city so the standard of hotels would not be as good as the bigger cities however if this is the best I would rather drive back to Dublin for the night

The hotel is in a good location but that is where the positives end. The hotel appears very run down and the rooms are a mess. After walking up the flights of stairs (it is probably safer than getting stuck in the small lifts) I got to my room and just thought this is average

However when I had a closer look it was less than average

The bathroom had a moth flying around in it, the shower was not user friendly, the linen on the bed was filthy and the noise that came through the open window was deafening. I am amazed at how much noise came through considering I was on the top floor

Another good thing was the food at the hotel bar downstairs although the service was atrocious, if you did not go and order your meal at the bar you would have been waiting a long time. The staff member I encountered was extremely rude

Another bad thing was the internet connection near the reception area cost €1 for a measly 8 minutes. You could get better value at a 5 star property in regards to internet usage

Breakfast was included however I did not eat a great deal as the food was below average and the plates felt greasy even though they had appeared to be washed

My advice is don't even consider this hotel. Drive up to Dublin or another part of Ireland if this is the only thing Waterford can offer in regards to accommodation

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_stoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We booked here on basis of reviews and leisure club. The hotel staff were helpful and provided good directions to the off site car park a few minutes walk away. Not a petty place to park, but no problems with car and request a ticket from reception to get out of there in the morning. The hotel is a bit of a warren, the quickest way out for us was via rear door. The room was quite impressive, with a large bed and 2 singles either side for the kids. The bathroom was large and TV with a large range of channels.The leisure club is excellant for a hotel, with a 19m pool, jacuzzi,sauna and gym. I was unaware of the need for a swimming cap in Ireland, which we had to buy at the reception. Note children had to leave the pool by 1900. The only niggle were children running around the corridors in the evening and using the lifts, but we were to the rear of the hotel. We ate out in the evening along the main road by the river, which takes about 10 minutes to walk the whole length. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, good choice and no real queues at 0900 in the morning.with plenty of seating. Overall paid extra than normally would, but worth it for the sports centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We Arrived at the hotel and had very mixed reviews, The building looked a little tired. Worn carpets and wallpaper. The hallways smelt of chlorine. We were greeted by very friendly staff and given directions through the very confusing hallways to our room. We were surprised when we arrived how nice the room was. Simple but clean.
Then the Music started. I believe it was coming from the Gym underneath, It roughly went on from 9:30am until 9pm. Not much of an issue but we had a 3 year old girl with us so could have become a problem on an early night.
All this taken into account we had a great stay. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The breakfast was good, (dinner was overpriced though)
The pool and Leisure Centre facilities were great and the pool staff were brilliant.

We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Days Hotel Waterford Spa and Leisure Club.
Thank you also for the points you raised regarding music from the gym, however I'm glad it didn't stop your family from enjoying your stay. We will bear this in mind in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

me and my husband spent a weekend at Days hotel in waterford and really enjoyed ourselves. we came down on the train and only had to walk across the bridge to get to the hotel. the rooms were lovely and comfortable. we ate in the restaurant on the day we got there and the food was really good. great craic in the bar on the two nights, live music and the staff were really nice. we'll definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredab_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Days Hotel Spa and Leisure Club.
We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Waterford again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I'm originally from Waterford but now living in Kerry so when it was my dad's 70th birthday myself & the family decided to organise a surprise party for him & all his family & friends-so I had been told from a friend in Waterford that Days Hotel was all newly done up & had a leisure centre & spa since I was last there. Me & my mam made an appointment with Michelle & Aideen in the sales office ( who I must say are worth their weight in gold for putting up with all my demands etc !!!) They showed us the function room which was perfect for our party & offered us special accommodation packages for all the family that were travelling from different parts of the country for the party. I found the girls so helpful as I was then trying to organise the whole party from Kerry-I have to say thank you so much for such a special weekend for all my family & the special treatrment that my dad was giving-he felt like a King. The whole family really enjoyed it & the buffet food was only superb!!! I would without doubt recommend this hotel- the service was second to none!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Days Hotel Spa and Leisure Club.
I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your family party at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I booked a weekend break for me and my mates recently in Waterford at the Days Hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel every day and it was always very good. The hotel staff were very helpful in helping me organise all the activities for the group. We played golf on the first day and went quad biking the day after. They even booked the bus to take us. Some of the lads used the pool and said the leisure centre was great. We had a great weekend and I earned lots of brownie points with the boys. We'll be back. Cheers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Days Hotel Spa and Leisure Club. I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Waterford.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing