We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
2 reviews
“Good for a night out”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good facilities and good customer service

Bit expensive though for the city. Spa and pool were good. Need to seal the doors in sauna and steamroom.

Bar is cheap: rooms are nice. Had fans installed prior to arrival because of the weather

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnachaMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Donnacha,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted you got to take time out and relax in our Spa & Leisure centre. We are extremely privileged in having such a great team working here at Treacys Hotel. I am shocked you found us to be a bit expensive, we are extremely price competitive with other Waterford hotels. Waterford is said to have the lowest accommodation rates throughout Ireland.

Once again thank you for your feedback. I do hope that you will visit both Waterford City and Treacys Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Allison Rockett
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    322
    155
    102
    157
See reviews for
282
351
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Myself and my sisters and sisters in law (6 of us) stayed here in June and we had a great night.
The hotel itself is quite basic, not a 4 star by any means but the incredible helpful and friendly staff more than made up for any shortcomings in the hotel itself.
We were early for check in but the receptionist made a few phone calls to housekeeping and even though I offered to accept rooms which were not adjacent she insisted she had earmarked 3 rooms together for us and if at all possible we could book in early. This we duly did and the rooms while not extravagant had all the basics including tea/coffee making facilities.
The hotel is right on the waterfront and very easy to find with free (for those staying in the hotel) parking just up the street in a supervised indoor car park.
It appears to be very popular with hen parties as there were 2 or 3 groups staying on the night we were there.
We had bar food which was very average and dinner as part of our package that night which was excellent.
The owner seemed to be constantly checking on people's welfare and spent time talking to people to ensure everyone was happy and being catered for.
There was music in the bar so we decided to stay put and it was an excellent decision, not necessarily for the music but just to encounter the most friendly, efficient bar staff I have probably ever encountered in Ireland.
They were smiling, happy, eager to make eye contact and a pleasure to behold. Ten out of ten !
I would definitely stay in Treacys Hotel again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a good location with brilliant customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayaddictWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We checked in at 13.00 as our room was ready the television in the room was not working because we were heading out we said it might be working when we got back.We returned and the television was still not working so I called reception at 5.50 a man called to our room but he could not fix it so he went off and got some remote controls still could not fix it so he went off and got another person to try and fix it.at 20.50 we were told we were being changed to a room on the 4th floor we had to pack our stuff up and go to the new room.we were annoyed because we had our 2 grandsons with us and they were fed up with no television.we felt the whole thing took to long to sort out and the hotel didn't even say they were sorry very poor indeed

Room Tip: when booking if you want a decent size room you will have to go to the back of the hotel rooms out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to see that our reception team were able to facilitate an early check-in for you and your family. Check-in is normally 3pm.

I am sorry to hear that your TV was not working properly in your room. We investigated the problem and unfortunately maintenance within the hotel could not fix the TV as it was a technical issue that needed to be dealt with by our TV provider. Unfortunately this was out of our control. I am however delighted that our reception team not only move you to a new room but also upgraded you for the inconvenience.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Your opinions and comments will help us achieve our most important priory, providing you with a better service.

Kind Regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hi just back from a wonderful stay Treacys Hotel Waterford. This was my first time staying in this hotel and Im wondering why Ive never been before. Firstly the room was fab above and beyond my expectation, Ive never had a junior suite before so thanks that was a great treat. The hotel is really lovely as were all the staff. The location couldn't be any better I got off the train and straight over the bridge and your in the door before u even realise it. We had a lovely dinner last night, the soup was so fresh and really tasty. The salmon was lovely too. Finally the best for last the yummy chocolate cake. All of the staff I dealt with were really friendly and helpful and I think this is so important in a hotel. I have found in other places the staff are friendly but it is false which you can always see through, this is definitely not the case in your hotel I felt all the staff were lovely and genuine. The receptionist that checked us in and out, the waiting staff at breakfast this morning and the staff at the swimming pool were all lovely. Thanks also to Eileen and especially John last night at dinner hes very friendly also. Overall it was a great hotel I would definitely recommend it and hopefully I will be back again soon. Thanks all and keep up the great work :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Katriona,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time out to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food here at Treacys Hotel. Our chefs are extremely talented and take great pride in what they do. Our House-Keeping team are second to none and always ensure the highest of standards are kept in cleanliness. We are extremely lucky in having a fantastic team of staff who really help in making our guests stay memorable. We do feel our personal touch enhances the experience of our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Your opinions and comments will help us achieve our most important priority, providing you with a better service.

Kind Regards,
Allison Rockett
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located on a very busy junction, constant traffic noise through out the night
Very small rooms and you can hear everything in the rooms either side of you
Staying on the first floor you wont sleep until the music stops in the bar around 1am
Small double bed - paid for a double room but it feels more like a single
Poor shower pressure and dated bathroom
Terrible wifi signal- couldnt get any work done on it
Long waiting time for food in the bar and the food wasn't worth the 25min wait
Smelly public areas like toilets and hall ways

One good point is it has a half decent gym and pool- if you have the energy after a poor nights sleep
Paid €210 for two nights mid week - very dissapointted and feel riped off

Room Tip: Id say the back rroms would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Joe,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Treacys Hotel was originally built in the mid 18th Century and with recent modernization we have tried to retain the charm of the building for this reason we have many different rooms at the front, side and back of building. We urge all guests to speak to reception if they have any issues during their stay. Our reception team are fantastic and do their utmost to accommodate guests as best they can.

I am sorry that you encountered some technical problem in your room. Unfortunately when we are not aware of the problems we can not fix them. I would of loved you to speak to reception. We could of rectified all problems and you could of got on enjoying your break away.

As you will see from previous reviews we have received an of reviews on how great our customer service is. I would if you could contact me in relation to your stay. you can contact me on 051-877222 or alternatively sales@thwaterford.com.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Your opinions and comments will help us achieve our most important priory, providing you with a better service.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel is situated on the quay, several people with rooms at the front complained of a disturbed night with traffic, however I slept we'll. We were late arriving and the staff were very good about taking our meal order and serving quickly. We left too early to use the swimming pool, it looked very inviting

Room Tip: If you are a quiet sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us. I would of loved if you got to spend more time to enjoy all the facilities we have here at Treacys Hotel. With our 20m swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam-room, fully equipped gym and our beauty spa Treacys Hotel really is a great place to relax and unwind.

We are extremely privileged in having a great team of staff working here at Treacys Hotel. Every member gives 110% to ensure all guests have a fantastic stay with us. This you noted in your review of our restaurant staff.

Once again thank you for your feedback. Your opinions and comments will help us achieve our most important priority, providing you with a better service.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at Treacys in Waterford for a 2 night break in mid may.having travelled from London to Dublin with some pals,we found the train ride very pleasant to Waterford and a 3 minute walk from the station and you're in Treacys hotel.
We were greeted by the lovely,glamorous Marian who made us feel right at home
straight away.
We mostly stayed for 2 nights with some pals just staying the one night.we all agreed it was great hotel with good facilities and amenities.the bar staff were very friendly and polite,ensuring we were kept well watered.!.very central to go out around Waterford ,but we found the best Craic to be had in the hotel bar..
Thank you Marian and all the staff at Treacys..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulfmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Paul,

I am delighted that you and your group had a fantastic stay with us. We are particularly lucky to be in such a prime location in Waterford City. Just a 3 minute stroll to both bus and train station and a 5/10 minute walk to the main shopping area of Waterford. I am thrilled you got to see Waterford and its surrounds.

We are extremely privileged in having such a great team working here at Treacys Hotel. Our bar team are fantastic. With their great personalities and hard work they always ensure a great atmosphere in our Timbertoes Bar.

Once again thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing