We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in great location perfect for cheap get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a deal on this hotel three nights one meal and breakfast for basically nothing , have to say rooms were nice nothing special , location is great . We went at a quiet time of year so not much was going on in the town . I had breakfast every morning which was nice and a meal in the bar which was also nice. Right across the road from the train station. I heard its a popular spot for hens and stags so be wary.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinequa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time at Treacys Hotel Waterford. I am happy to hear that you loved the location of our hotel . We are just 2/3 minute walk from both bus and train station and just a short stroll to the main shopping area. I am glad you enjoyed food here too, we do have a very talented team of chefs.I will pass on your compliments.

We are the largest hotel in Waterford with 160 bedrooms. Because of our quantity of rooms we are very fortunate that we can facilitate and accommodate all types of guests. Our reception team are fantastic in their allocation of rooms keeping all families together, all couples together, all older people together and so on.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our bedrooms were nothing special. I would love if you could give me further feedback on that. My email address is sales@thwaterford.com.

I do hope hope you will come visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a smoking room however when we arrived to the room the bathroom door had a dent in it, room had a stale smell the paint was gone off the walls, the thermostat was hanging off the wall with tape, a plug socket was hanging off the wall with wires exposed and the skirting board was hanging of the wall. the staff however accomdated us and upgraded our room. We got dinner in the bar in the evening it was as if it was leftovers were from someone elses plate, breakfast Buffett had hardly anything fresh in it at 9.00am, meat and scrambled eggs were like rubber. The gym however is nice and the spa is lovely but other than that we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stef6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience with us. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with that we can help to improve the quality and service at our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that you and your boyfriend were allocated a room that should of been blocked for guests. I am happy to hear that you did report this to our reception team and that they immediately changed and upgraded your room.

I am disappointed and shocked that you did not enjoy the food served here at Treacys Hotel. Usually we get praised and complemented for our array of home-cooked dishes. You will see this in may other reviews on Tripadvisor. I have brought your comments to the attention of our Head-chef and he is looking into it at present.

I do hope you will return to Treacys Hotel and allow us to restore your confidence in the service we offer.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hi there just a quick line to say a big thanks for a verg enjoyable stay we had in the hotel on sunday may 5th.. ...rooms verg nice with a verg nice powerfull shower.food verg good in the bar .music that night by men in black oustanding..........service was verg efficent and friendly .looking forward to our next vist already many thanks again from the wade family.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3447adrian84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience at Treacys Hotel. We are delighted to read that you truly had a great experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Both myself and husband stayed here and have to say it was one of the best hotels i stayed in in along time staff were so nice and catered all our needs. the food was fantastic nice big portion too :) needed a nice relaxing break and thats what i got. swimming and spa was wonderful and i must say the bedroom was out of this world so comfy nd best of all checkout is not till 12 so we could get in a swim before we departed will b going again soon well recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Sabrina,

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read that you took time out to relax in our swimming pool and our fantastic spa. I am delighted you got to taste the fabulous home-cooked food our talented chefs create. Once again thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here with friends for a weekend. The hotel is across the road from the train station which is good but its a good walk from all the good night spots . The staff were very welcoming and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere it was a weekend so it was very busy with parties etc.. We ate in the restaurant which was included in our stay which was really nice and the food was delicious and excellent value. The rooms were average and bathroom a bit smelly but they where clean and good value for money . Breakfast was very busy but it was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisam985_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time here at Treacys Hotel. I am thrilled to read that you had such a great experience with us. Our team at Treacys Hotel are second to none. Everybody goes up and beyond to ensure all guests have a great experience with us. Our chefs are extremely talented too. Our house-keeping staff take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. I will speak with head of house-keeping on your comment about our bathroom and try rectify the problem.

Once again thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

As you'd hope to get from a hotel in this range - decent comfortable rooms, nice buffet style (with full Irish, cereal, fruit, tea/toast, etc.) and friendly staff. Exactly what we were after for a group weekend away for good value. Location wasn't too far away from restaurants/pubs, as Waterford is a compact city. Breakfast was served until 10:30am on Sun & a 12pm checkout was nice after a Saturday night out!

Didnt use the pool/spa so can't review, though we did also get free parking in the multi-storey behind the hotel.

Good hotel for groups.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time at Treacys Hotel. I am happy to read that you did enjoy your stay and everything was to your standard. We do have a fantastic team of staff here who work very hard to ensure all guests have a pleasant experience with us. We do hope you will return to us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

i am just back from a weekend stay at treacys . well i love this hotel for so many reasons. it is in a ideal location. the staff are all very welcoming, friendly and will help always. they go out of their way to make your stay very plesant. the hotel is very well run and is a great family enviroment. i and all my family have stayed in this hotel a lot and love the atmosphere. highly recommened and cannot wait for my next trip to treacys waterford. it is very good value and the food is fantastic always made feel very welcome .

Room Tip: if possible request block b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Janet,

Thank you very much for another return visit to Treacys Hotel. It is always a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. I am delighted that on each stay we do not fail to meet your expectations on food and service. I will take great pleasure in passing on your kind words to all departments here at Treacys Hotel.

We look forward to your next return visit.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,456 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: $91 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. The hotel has two different dining options Timbertoes Bar or Crokers Restaurant. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing