We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treacys Hotel Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A older hotel with charecter situated on the front over the bridge, a very resonable price paid, nice decor inside, parking a bit of a problem, had to park round the back of the hotel, nice food, and full service given, well worth a stay, waterford cyrstal just up the road

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    305
    144
    97
    149
See reviews for
267
329
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay in Treacy's Hotel with my husband. We arrived on Friday around 5.30pm and settled into our room which was quiet spacious and comfortable. We decided to try the bar food on the Friday night as our weekend package included an evening meal on Saturday. The bar food was very tasty and bar staff very friendly. The only small niggle I would have is the breakfast. I dont think the lay out was very good and it was buffet style which I did not mind but to me the lay out was mad. The usual juices,cereal and full irish breakfast which could do with a slight adjustment instead of fried potatoes why not try mushrooms or both not a great selection. For people that like fresh fruit with their breakfast all that was there was melon, grapefruit, and oranges all seperate on plates.Ok that is my negative on my break but it think if they can overall the breakfast they would be on to a winner. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Satutday evening and it was very nice. I hope to return to Treacys again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can improve the quality and service in our hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable break away with us, you were pleased with food and that you will be back to stay with us again soon. I spoken with our chief and breakfast and he is looking into doing something a bit different.

Once again thank you for your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Date of stay: September 24, 2012
Purpose: Designated hotel for Britain and Ireland Explorer cost saver guided tour by Trafalgar (21 days).
Hotel location: Centrally located downtown near the bridge, accessible to shopping & grocery stores, restaurants and entertainment. There's a closeby Centra grocery store.
Hotel amenities: Has functional lobby, good and clean restaurant & bar, limited internet cafe at the lobby, wake-up call.
Room amenities: Clean room, 1 queensize bed, 2 single beds, functional desks and closet with lots of drawers, 1 small table with chairs, free safety deposit box, wi-fi internet connection, TV, telephone, kettle for boiling water, complimentary tea & coffee supply and a small bag of cookies, iron & ironing board, clean and functional bathroom with bath tub, basic bathroom supplies without face cloth as it is not normally provided by European hotels, hair dryer. While the hotel claims its tap water is safe to drink, we still boiled it first before drinking.
Electric voltage: 220V which requires adapter & converter for 110V personal appliances. However, there's a 115V outlet marked "For shaver only" in the bathroom that I managed to use recharging my 110V shaver and double A rechargeable batteries for digital camera without using adapter & converter.
Personal comment: Having passed the criteria of Trafalgar to select this hotel for its very popular Britain and Ireland Explorer cost saver organized tour, value-for-money, we also recommend this hotel.

Romeo & Lunesa Fernandez
Toronto, Ontario
Canada

Room Tip: Our pre-assigned room facing the bridge offers good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeoFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Romeo,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We do hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Treacy's Hotel Spa & Leisure Club for three days with our 3 months little daughter.
Nice staff, family run business. Room was comfortable, we had our peace and quite time. Leisure Club and Swimming pool was a highlight of our trip.2 lifts were great for our baggage.Will come back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am trilled to hear that you and your family had a really a lovely experience here at Treacy's Hotel. We are very fortunate in having a great team here at Treacy's Hotel who endeavor to go up and beyond to ensure all guests have a fantastic experience at our hotel.

I'm delighted to hear that you also took time out to use the great facilities that we have here at our leisure centre and that you found great comfort in your room and most of all that you left Treacy's Hotel feeling relaxed.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a family celebration this weekend. As a whole, we were all very impressed. The rooms we had were very spacious and spotless. We ate in the bar on saturday night, the food and service was excellent. As the stay was for our parents 50th wedding anniversary celebration, the hotel staff made a huge fuss of them and made the entire night very spcecial for them. This my second stay in the hotel in the past 2 months and I honestly can't fault anything on either occasion. This hotel is very good value for money, staff are more than helpful and no request was too much for them. It's also very family friendly and has a kids club during the summer months which my eldest daughter enjoyed very much on our previous stay. I will definitly be back.

Room Tip: Block B rooms are very spacious and are perfect for a family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Angela,

I'm delighted to read that you and your family truly had a great experience again at our hotel. I'm trilled that room provided more than enough space for your family and that it was spotless! We are very fortunate in having a dedicated team of staff here at Treacys Hotel. This we feel enhances guests experiences during their stay and i am delighted that everybody made a big fuss of your parents 50th wedding anniversary. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed as part of a group of 18 for a 70th birthday celebration weekend. We got a great price of 99.00 for two nights b&b and evening meal on the Saturday. The rooms we had were big, clean and comfortable. Marion met us at reception when we arrived and looked after us from start to finish, she could not do enough for us.Thanks Marion.The hotel organised balloons on the table for our dinner party, a birthday cake and flowers.The birthday lady also received a box of sweets from hotel which was a nice personal touch. The meal in restaurant was exceptional, we ordered a varied menu and everyone cleared their plates. The only fault we found was at breakfast, we had to wait on food to come out at buffet, some of the items were not available once the first lot were gone.There was no brown bread out until we asked for it, no tea pots, no mugs, breakfast was your basic Irish breakfast, very enjoyable with no frills. More fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice would make a big difference, maybe a croissant or pastry would be perfect.The breakfast room seemed under staffed which left one grumpy girl under pressure. We used the spa for treatments and it was fantastic. All the other staff were nice and friendly and an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you returned to us and that you and your family had a wonderful experience. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am delighted to read that you found staff truly exceptional. We are very fortunate in having a great team here at Treacy's Hotel who endeavor to go up and beyond to ensure all guests have a fantastic experience at our hotel.

I am disappointed to hear of your trouble at breakfast. I am not sure why there were no tea pots etc. and i am investing this at present. I can assure you that this is not standard practice.

It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feenagh, county limerick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Working in the area, stayed one night, reading bad reviews first, and I must say it didn't live up to the bad press.
Room was ok, tv remote didn't work, but it was fixed no bother.
Bar was busy, good beer.
Parking was a bit of a walk, especially with a snapped hamstring.
Just thought it was overpriced, even though it was ploughing championship week.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gortnagluggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience at Treacy's Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a nice time with us and that any doubts you had on the quality and service of our hotel on reading previous negative reviews were quashed. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bar and that you contact reception when you had a problem with your TV remote.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing