We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, much improved service since last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Kildare
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay, much improved service since last visit.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed as part of a group of 18 for a 70th birthday celebration weekend. We got a great price of 99.00 for two nights b&b and evening meal on the Saturday. The rooms we had were big, clean and comfortable. Marion met us at reception when we arrived and looked after us from start to finish, she could not do enough for us.Thanks Marion.The hotel organised balloons on the table for our dinner party, a birthday cake and flowers.The birthday lady also received a box of sweets from hotel which was a nice personal touch. The meal in restaurant was exceptional, we ordered a varied menu and everyone cleared their plates. The only fault we found was at breakfast, we had to wait on food to come out at buffet, some of the items were not available once the first lot were gone.There was no brown bread out until we asked for it, no tea pots, no mugs, breakfast was your basic Irish breakfast, very enjoyable with no frills. More fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice would make a big difference, maybe a croissant or pastry would be perfect.The breakfast room seemed under staffed which left one grumpy girl under pressure. We used the spa for treatments and it was fantastic. All the other staff were nice and friendly and an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you returned to us and that you and your family had a wonderful experience. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am delighted to read that you found staff truly exceptional. We are very fortunate in having a great team here at Treacy's Hotel who endeavor to go up and beyond to ensure all guests have a fantastic experience at our hotel.

I am disappointed to hear of your trouble at breakfast. I am not sure why there were no tea pots etc. and i am investing this at present. I can assure you that this is not standard practice.

It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    322
    155
    102
    157
See reviews for
282
351
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
feenagh, county limerick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Working in the area, stayed one night, reading bad reviews first, and I must say it didn't live up to the bad press.
Room was ok, tv remote didn't work, but it was fixed no bother.
Bar was busy, good beer.
Parking was a bit of a walk, especially with a snapped hamstring.
Just thought it was overpriced, even though it was ploughing championship week.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gortnagluggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time out to review your experience at Treacy's Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a nice time with us and that any doubts you had on the quality and service of our hotel on reading previous negative reviews were quashed. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bar and that you contact reception when you had a problem with your TV remote.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bena, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After several hours touring the historical Waterford Crystal Works (now just a working factory museum and specialty piece fabricator), this above average hotel in Waterford was satisfactory for an overnight stay.
Waterford is a quiet small town and typical of the Irish countryside. After a working man's Irish breakfast of bacon, sunny-side up eggs, broiled mushrooms, pork and beans, and a hash browns patty, we did a little sightseeing on foot. Nothing remarkable to report.
We did note the energy and enthusiasm of the Waterford Crystal folks and the quality and beauty of their products. It was sad to hear that most production has been moved to baltic countries and less expensive labor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofrankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped at this hotel for an overnight on our way to the ferry home from Rosslare. The manager came and welcomed us on our arrival. Our rooms were ready and large, clean and comfortable with everything we needed, even down to an iron, ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a place to sit in the window to look at the beautiful river view. We had a room on the first floor, 116, and the only little fly in the ointment was that the little plastic wedges with which you close the double glazed windows were missing so we could hear the traffic noise. We spent the night enjoying the free entertainment until the early hours anyway so only needed the room for sleeping.

The meal was five star restaurant fare with great choices and everything well cooked and appetising. We had buffet style desserts and tea/coffee after the meal. The first courses and mains were served to the table. The manager, John Treacy, and the customer services manager also came to the table to ensure everything was first class and that we were aware of all the entertainment available, both in hotel and two doors away in Sean Maguires pub. We found the Irish singer, entertainer and musician a fine choice without having to leave.

Although we were leaving independently a few hours later than our coach party, we had a lovely quiet sleep in, mainly because of the lovely way the corridors are set out, so they are not noisy rat runs but have small alcoves and annexes to the doors which cut down noise.

Would love to stay longer, reception staff were a great friendly bunch and the bar staff were very helpful, even serving me a chip supper after 9pm when I fancied one. Go there when you can, you will love it.

Room Tip: nice river views from even numbered rooms 114, 116, only ask for the double glazing to be fixed if s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

No words to describe how bad a place this is ,my wife and I checked in here on a Saturday nite in september , the room was just across from an elevator , with a stag party from Dublin , staying not putting down Dublin people or anything but my god were ! They loud ,knocking on the door at four in the morning when we went down for breakfast the following morning there was sick everywhere not cleaned , from the night before tea pots used as milk jugs my god are times that bad the staff in the bar where so flippant , rooms were apauling, breakfast was a disgrace we dident have dinner my god thank god,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay at our hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can improve the quality and service at our hotel.

I am shock to read your review. Firstly I apologize for some inconsiderate guests. We do urge guests to contact reception if they have a problem or are unhappy at all. We are duty bound to provide our guests with a comfortable and safe nights sleep and we do our utmost to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay.

It is totally unacceptable to have sick everywhere and not cleaned up. I have spoke with managers and housekeeping on this and they are not sure how or when this happened. I would love if you could contact me on this as I would like to get to the bottom of what and how this happened.

I cannot comprehend how tea pots were used as milk jugs during breakfast. This I assume was an oversight from breakfast team. We have a great reputation for our food and especially our dinner. It is unfortunate that you did not get to enjoy.

Once again thank you for your review, I would love if you could contact me directly in relation to your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
sales@thwaterford.com
051-877222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a lovely stay in hotel for weekend all staff so friendly especially receptionist sharon was so helpful we did have an issue with noise but she sorted it all out and we enjoyed our weekend and would go back and pool heated it was lovely

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The first problem we encountered was that our toilet wasn't flushing properly in the room. We alerted the staff at reception about this but nothing was done about it. The toilet in the main reception area wasn't the greatest either leading us to believe there is a general plumbing issue in the hotel. The main issues started at night when we couldn't even watch tv over the level of music coming from the bar, not to mind sleep. I don't know what kind of establishment thinks it is acceptable to take 150 euro for a room for a weekend and then put them in a room above their bar where they are guaranteed a torturous night. After the music stopped, drunken men shouted at each other, racing through the hotel corridors, often falling against our door. The whole lobby of the hotel was full of undesirables who spilled over from the hotel bar. It was intimidating to say the least. The beds were not of good quality though the rooms were quite clean. Breakfast is canteen like and mediocre. We complained at reception during the night and the following morning. We were met with well practiced defenses. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my dog.

Room Tip: If you book a deal, expect to spend the night above the bar. Only book this hotel if you plan to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing