We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midweek night away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed September 14, 2012

From check in to check out this hotel exceeded my expectations.

Room was comfortable and clean. Perfect for one nights stay.

Dinner was included in room price, service was good but the standout part of dinner was the portion sizes. We were bowled over from what was placed in front of us, absolutely fantastic. We basically rolled out of the restaurant from being so full.

That evening we went to the bar for a drink before hitting the town. Very comfy and perfect to start the night.

After our night out in town, we arrived back at the residents bar to be greeted by the night porter "shaun"...couldn't have being nicer and looked after us so well, even putting up with our drunken rambles. Many thanks to him for ending our night so well.

Breakfast the next morning was well needed and the buffet style suited us perfectly.

Will stay again :-)

Room Tip: around the 200's is good and not too far from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Iv been to this hotel loads of time with family,friends,boyfriend, always brilliant every single time, staff are great, always meet great people, fantastic atmosphere all the time, rooms lovely no fault anywhere with this hotel, will be back ina few weeks to hav a bit of craic, thanks to all at treacys 

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vmc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As my son was playing in a hurling tournament in Waterford we decided to treat the family and stay overnight in the city to save us travelling back to Dublin. We chose Treacys Hotel. Check in staff were friendly. However when we went to go to our room we had to travel through 2 lifts, 2 fllights of stairs,several security doors and into Block B... a very hot corridor and an even hotter room. There was air conditioning however we found during the night that it switched itself off intermittently. My husband and I could not sleep.Upon complaining to the manager the following morning (after a very average breakfast) we were told we should have complained during the night and maintenance would have been sent up to resolve the problem.I obviously did not call as my children were asleep and I was reluctant to wake them also. We got little satisfaction from the manager. Listened attentively but was not prepared to do anything for us. Also, there was no cold water only boiling water from the cold tap which meant taking a shower was impossible. The manager appeared to be only hearing this for the first time however another guest overheard us complaining and informed me she had the same complaint. We would have been better returning to Dublin instead of staying overnight. We would have got a better nights sleep. For a family room this was much too far from reception. Reluctant to allow my children to go up and down to room alone. There is definitely something wrong in block b. Perhaps being over the pool/sauna had something to do with it.(as the manager himself admitted) Definitely will never return again....

Room Tip: Don't go to block b .... if you have to go to the hotel at all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Sales & Marketing at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us at Treacy's Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it is with this that we can help improve the quality and service at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found staff very friendly. We are very fortunate to in having a great team here at Treacy's Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you went a very round about way to get to your room. No guest bedroom involves having to travel through two lifts along with two flights of stairs and several security doors. We do provide guests with a map on check-in if they are staying in our up-graded rooms in Block B which shows guests the quickest and shortest way to get to their room.

I apologize that the air-conditioning unit in your room was working intermittently during your stay. I do understand that you did not want to disturb your sleeping children in the middle of the night to let maintenance fixed the problem. We have since resolved this issue.

I am disappointed to read that you and your family did not enjoy have an enjoyable experience with us. We welcome the opportunity for you to return to us so that we can demonstrate that this was an isolated incident.

Once again thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time out to review your time with us.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and a couple of lads decided to go to Waterford for the night to celebrate my bday.....was abit weiry coz heard from some people Waterford was not a good place to go out. Got to Treacys around 7pm saturday night. The staff on the desk were very nice and gave us pointers on where to go out and the local pubs. Rooms were okay too. Had everything ya need for one night. Hotel Bar had a band and fast bar service, Cocktails too. The rest of the nite was a blur :-) but even in the morning the breakfast was lovely and good atmosphere....and it was all very reasonably priced. I enjoyed my stay and would def go back there....see ye soon Treacys

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianek06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived by coach at 7.45pm after leaving Devon at 6am.We had to carry our own luggage on arrival and departure,from the street behind the hotel. We were given 10 mins to find our rooms and get backdown to the dining room .The evening meals were disappointing but the dining room staff were all friendly and quick. We had no hot water for 2 days. most of our party found problems with their rooms.We had no extractor fan in the bathroom and we could not lock the door at night as the chain was broken.The safes were on the floor and the easiest way to set them was by lying on the floor.Not easy for a 76year old with arthritis.

Room Tip: traffic very busy at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

really enjoyed are stay, went down with friends and are kids. we all had a brilliant time, especially the kids. the kids club was the best, my four year old boy really loved it, they took the kids for breakfast at 9 am and collected him at 12, then they had a evening club where they can get dinner and watched a movie, from 6.30 til 9. the staff where very friendly and very easy going, food was lovely and very reasonably priced. we are all looking forward to going back down again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I personnaly spent two nights in this hotel (August 8th and August 9th, 2012). They are doing the best they can to offer good service. There is no in-site car park, but I did not suffer that because the hotel has an arrangement with a public car park which is only 5 minutes away (walking distance). Breakfast buffet was plentiful and the breakfast room was big enough to accommodate hotel guests.
The unique "problem" that I have had there was soundproofing, but this is due to old facilities. You know, this is not e post-modern building, therefore when guests were leaving the hotel at 5.00am I could hear them walking in the corridor and this is not top when you're on holidays. But I think this is not a reason for not enjoying the good location and good service provided by Treacy's Hotel ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range: $86 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. The hotel has two different dining options Timbertoes Bar or Crokers Restaurant. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing