We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Was unfortunate to be booked into this hotel by a family member. Arrived tired and weary, left more tired and weary. reception more interested in collecting E 62.50 P.p E125 overnigth than our comfort.
Room was small , toilet wouldn't flush and unable to "Sleep" due to vibration underneath room, Eventually moved to another COLD room in our night attire where we got some sleep.
Nobody interested in customers and no reduction for a very uncomfortable experience.
Would look after us on next visit. No Thanks!!
. S .Geaney

Room Tip: Didn't find anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhy790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hi Niamh760,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All reviews are very helpful and appreciated. I'm disappointed that you didn't find our staff here courteous and friendly and that your room facilities were not working properly. This is not standard practice in our hotel. I would love if you could take a few more minutes of your time to go through with me all details of your stay. My email address is sales@thwaterford.com if you could contact me on that.
Thanks again for your review.
Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    322
    155
    102
    157
See reviews for
282
351
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Eire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Having read the reviews after I booked a special offer for this hotel I was a bit apprehensive. The rooms were small and basic but clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a meal included in price and didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. I paid a €5 supplement for my monk fish but it was worth it. The food was devine. The pool area was small but adequate. Overall very good value for a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: I would expect rooms at the front to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hi Fiona,
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found our staff very helpful and friendly and you found our food fantastic. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went down with my girlfriend for the weekend in Waterford and we had a wonderful time down in Treacy’s Hotel. It was very reasonable priced accommodation with wonderful facilities. The rooms were clearly recently refurbished as they were in top class shape. The new spa and leisure centre was great too. I personally loved the pool (and Jacuzzi!J) and my girlfriend really enjoyed the spa treatments. The location of the hotel was fantastic too. It was literally the closet building to the train station which made the travelling from Dublin so easy! It is still in the city centre so we didn’t need to get taxi’s anywhere. One other thing I found great was that there was music every night we were there and even on Sunday morning which was a first for me!

All round it was a great stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hi Seamus,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind words. I'm trilled you found our facilities top notch, our rooms wonderful and our city centre location just what you were looking for.
We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend again soon.

Regards,

Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Wateford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights everything was nice check in staff sharon was friendly and helpful and dealt with her through out my stay food good free car park and nice pool would go again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your lovely review. I'm delighted you found our facilities great and our staff courteous. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed at Treacy's for one night with a Trafalgar tour. My bed was visibly broken - thought I was going to roll off into the sea. No one was at the desk, so no help. Sleep was impossible. Next day I found out that someone else had the exact same problem. Waited at the reception desk for over a half hour, but no one showed up. The light on the desk was broken and I couldn't reach the shower water nozzles without standing in the tub (hence scalding my feet). bad news.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TekPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K, Manager at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable feedback on our hotel. All reviews are greatly appreciated. From my research of the night in question, your Trafalgar tour arrived in the middle of the night. At this time we have only one member of staff manning the reception desk and this is the night porter. The time that you were waiting at reception was the time our night porter was busy unloading your coach.
I apologies sincerely for the problem with your bed and lamp that we were unaware of on the night. I really wish that we had become aware of these issues on the night as we certainly would have transferred you into a more suitable room.
I would like to speak to you again about your stay at our hotel. If you wish to do so you can contact me at sales@thwaterford.com.
Thanks again for your stay with us and your review.
Regards,
Shóna McGailey
Sales & Marketing
Treacy's Hotel Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterford hotels

belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

had the misfortune of having to stay in this hotel unexpectedly.
had to pay flat room rate and was late when i got there.
the hotel and bar was very busy with what looked like a mixture of hen and stag parties and associated drunks loitering around the doorway smoking.
that normally doesnt bother me but i dont think a hotel should allow smoking at its entrance for the bar customers , myself and other guests had to try get around them all with bags and that.
check in was brisk and all had to be paid in advance , i can understand that with the damage all those hen and stag parties might cause.
car parking was offered but was a few blocks away in a shopping centre so of no use to me on a saturday night plus it sounded one of those annoying ones where you had to get the ticket validated anytime you wanted to use your car.
the room i was in was tiny , the TV didnt work , the bathroom was small and had no toiletries.
the bed was comfortable enough and the room was very dark with the lights out and surprisingly quiet given the commotion downstairs in the bar.
however this was short lived.
what seemed like an endless troupe of drunkards marching up and down the corridors all night put and end to any chance of a sleep.
it was 3am and i went to the lobby to get a drink of water and the bar was in full swing and a load of people crashed out in the lobby.
around 5 am it seemed to quieten down in the corridor but then someone opened my room and walked in cool as you like.
i presume an employee out on the drink , i was very late checking in and they probably thought the room would be empty where they could get a few hours sleep.
i was kinda looking forward to breakfast and slept late to around 10am , the bar was still going when i walked by , although this looked like hangover drinking and not a continuation of the night before.
sadly breakfast was as poor as the rest of the stay and i got my stuff and fled vowing never to return.
such a shame ireland still has these hotels misleading visitors.
if its late drink you want and the freedom to go running and shouting around a hotel till 5 in the morning then this is the very place.
however if its a few pints and a decent nights sleep then forget it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkwind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just arrived back from this hotel yesterday. Arrived on Friday for a two night stay. On arrival at 4.00, after a three hour drive, I was informed that if paying by cash then I would have to provide them with the full amount there and then. I was paying by a combination of cash and credit card (a family member's card as a present). I did not have the amount of cash on me at the time and was told that I could not be allowed into my room until I had provided them with the cash. So I had to walk 10 minutes down the road in the rain to a bank machine. I don't understand why they could not have told me this on the phone when I spoke to them the day before. When I arrived back at the hotel with the cash I was informed that I still could not enter the room until I gave them the card number which I didn't have on me. All I wanted was to put my feet up for 5 minutes. Another girl named Sharon came over and told me that this was fine. She was the only nice member of staff at the front desk and I only dealt with her for the remainder of the weekend. We had booked a double room and when we got up to the room, we realised that what we actually had was two single beds pushed together. After complaining about this, we got a family room (which they also tried to charge us full price for).
The package that we booked included two back massages. The girl who did my massage though didn't put the gel on at the end that she was supposed to put on me. So now I can't sleep, or drive, or do my job properly. I have had to see a doctor about my back and as a result I'm out of work for the next week. By all accounts, avoid this hotel! The food was nice and all of the other staff were lovely but the experience was terrible and I would urge everyone to not book a stay in this hotel!!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysHotel, Director of Sales at Treacys Hotel Waterford, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Rosanna.
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to send in the review of our hotel as it is only by such feedback that we can hope to improve our service. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the food and general service of our staff. I am disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to rectify any issues you had while you were staying with us.
I am shocked to hear of your issues at check in, I have reprimanded the receptionist and assure you that this is not the standard of practice in our hotel. While it is our practice to take a credit card swipe or payment by cash/laser on arrival we would always let people check in and come back to us at a more convenient time. I do apologise for the room allocation, however, I would say that our single beds are ‘zip and link’ beds, the single mattresses zip together to make a double and the bases link together at each end so as not to come apart. I do not understand the remark of charging full price for the family room as we charge our rooms on a per person basis, regardless of room size, that is unless it was an upgrade room which does have an additional cost.
In relation to your comments for Spirit Beauty Spa, I am very sorry to hear you had discomfort after your massage. Your spa package included two deep tissue back, neck and shoulder massages and as they were deep tissue massages your therapists work deeper into the muscles then your regular swedish massage. For this reason you can experience stiffness and discomfort for a few days post deep tissue massage.
The Instant refreshing gel is sometimes applied after deep work on the back. This is only a refreshing gel that can temporarily help to cool down the area for approximately thirty minutes after treatment. This gel has no influence over the after effects of a massage and for this reason some therapists choose to use this product and some therapists choose not to use it.
The spa manager was on duty for your treatments and I do feel that if you had addressed your complaint with her on the day I would have most certainly ensured that one of my therapists of myself had given you some instant refreshing gel, if even to take home with you. As you did not confront me on the day regarding this matter I was unable to rectify it for you.
We have extremely high standards at Spirit Beauty Spa and our customer satisfaction is of upmost importance to us. This is the first bad review Spirit Beauty Spa has ever received since we opened three years ago. It is the first bad review ever submitted on trip advisor and on any other website.
We would apologise for any inconvenience caused, and hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Maria Keena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.8 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treacys Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treacys Hotel Waterford

Property: Treacys Hotel Waterford
Address: The Day's Inn 1 Merchants Quay, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Days Hotel Waterford)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Treacys Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Bridge Hotel, this property has been completely renovated and transformed into one of Waterford city's finest hotels. Treacys Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, Waterford is a quality three star heritage hotel that combines modern comfort with quintessential Irish style, featuring spectacular Waterford Crystal chandeliers and rich oak paneling. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront in historic Waterford, Ireland's oldest city centre. This prime location makes Treacys Hotel, Waterford the ideal base for exploring all that Waterford City has to offer. With 3 different dining options available you can chose from traditional Irish, European and Thai cuisine. The hotel also boasts 163 exquisite guest bedrooms, 5 conference suites and state of the art Spirit Leisure Centre, equipped with gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and a 20 m heated swimming pool. The in-house Spirit Beauty Spa offers luxurious treatments from enhancements, facials and full body massage. In-room amenities include flat screen TV, work desk, safe, ironing station, and tea/coffee maker and free wireless broadband. Waterford City is renowned for its nightlife, from traditional Irish pubs to lively clubs and late night bars, everything you need is right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treacys Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waterford
Waterford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing