We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mrs Brown's boys” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Ranked #17 of 58 things to do in Waterford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful Victorian theatre hidden inside a Georgian building and one of Ireland's oldest theatres.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs Brown's boys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

saw the premiers of a lot of these shows here Brendan O Carroll at his best tears of laughter some of the best nights i have ever had

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chris 'n Jean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a gem. In 5 days in Waterford we visited the theatre 3 times for 3 very different shows, and all three were memorable. This wonderful theatre is one of Irelands, let alone Waterfords, great assets. Forget about Guiness and Crystal and enjoy an evening at the Royal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seating is so bad its not worth it but shows are very good...PITY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Shows are great so its gets 4stars for that. However seating is so bad their is no room for your knees if you are over 5 foot. The seats are rock hard and so close together the whole row has to move if you need to get up. The worst seats I have ever sat in. PITY!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not what I expected, went to see a show here with a group of friends and it was a great night. I love the feel of these old style theaters and they have done a great job of renovating this. It still feels authentic with the steep banks of seats, old world decor and brilliant acoustics.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WoodMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing