We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holy Cross Pub

The Holy Cross Pub
Ranked #27 of 173 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really excellent breakfast”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stopped off this morning for breakfast with my Mum and Dad. In truth we were waiting when they opened at 9am. A really excellent full Irish for a great price €8 for 2 sausages, 2 bacon, egg, black pudding, white. Pudding, beans, mushrooms, loads of toast and soda bread, and lots of coffee. All three of is finished our plates and were full for the day. Friendly landlord too. Thoroughly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“deceptive from outside”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stopped there recently with a group.This was my first call here although I have been passing it for years.What a surprise I got when I entered.This place is beautifully laid out,with little nooks and crannies scattered about.This is a place pub spy would have loved.The Carvery was huge and inviting.Portions were enormous,and even the Chef was very pleasant and looked the real deal with his red Goatee.The food here did not disappoint it was superb.The coffee was also excellent and came in big mugs.Certainly worth a visit,and I intend to call next time that I am passing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“short-term gain”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The operator at the till charged my visa 10Eur for a lunch that was 7eur. I'm knew to the area but won't be going back ever to this place again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 605tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast ever”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had an amazing breakfast here this morning , a full irish , never had a breakfast like it before , very tasty , beans and mushrooms in seperate little bowls , brown bread came with it even though we did'nt ask for it very nice , the barman serving was a gent did'nt get his name but well done , they had the fire lighting and it was really nice ti sit in front of the fire enjoying a full irish with a lovely cup of tea, Well done to all . We will be going back again soon and will highly recommend to everyone. (-8

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MunsterMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The nicest bar and restaurant in the southeast of ireland.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Myself and my husband travel to ireland every year , we live in the states. We stumbled across this special bar on our trip to ireland back in 1998 we instantly fell in love with the pub, the staff the food and most of all the family and this is why we make it our business every year to return to the holy cross. We also love the fact our b&b is a stones throw across the road ashliegh b&b with the super friendly and welcoming tj and phylis.
Every year we stop by the holy cross we are never let down we do quite alot of travelling in ireland and there are not many bar & restaurants of its kind . This is a must if your in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holy Cross Pub also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to The Holy Cross Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing