We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & even better Guinness”
Review of The Three Shippes

The Three Shippes
Ranked #39 of 177 Restaurants in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food & even better Guinness”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This pub serves great food and even better Guinness. We eat here one afternoon last week and nothing was any trouble for the man who served us. We ordered meals from the specials board, roast beef dinner and the spagetti bolognaise - both very good and reasonably priced at 9.95 euros each. We didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive and I had my best pint of Guinness in years while I was waiting. I've been drinking Guinness for 39 years so I should know! The place is a little hard to find but if you go around the corner from Reginalds tower, cross over The Mall at the statue of Meagher on his Horse, then turn left up Lombard Street, you'll find it a few hundred yards along the street on the right hand side.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and very reasonable”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were actually heading to the park with our kids when we decided to go in for something to eat. A lovely spacious pub with a very good and reasonable menu. The staff were lovely and very friendly. Our food was lovely and we will definitely go back when were in Waterford again

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped into The 3 ships for some Sunday lunch with a group of 5. We were greeted by a friendly barman straight away and shown to a comfy seat by the window looking out onto the park. There is a lot of choice on the menu at reasonable prices – something to suit everyone’s taste. Food was really good quality and we all tried the local Metalman ale which went down a treat. Good atmosphere in the bar! We will definitely recommend and hopefully be back soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Pub, Great Food.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visited Waterford with a group of buddies for a weekend in early July! We were looking for somewhere to have a few pints and some good food and The Three Shippes was recommended to us by a local lady in our hotel. The menu was substantial and as a group of 6 we did not struggle for choice. 2 of us had the steak sandwich and the others had chowder, burgers and chicken baps. Everyone was impressed with the food and the portion sizes were spot on!!! The barman was a good laugh and there was a nice chilled out atmosphere in the pub! I would recommend here for some good hearty local food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillarys, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasteless pre-cooked food.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We dined at the Three Shippes in Waterford on 23rd June. We decided to have dinner at a local pub. We had a drink and ordered our dinner and within 5 minutes our dinner was in front of us. I ordered Beef Stir Fry and my husband ordered Seafood Chowder. They obviously had been pre-cooked and been sitting on the stove for hours as they were both tasteless. We were disappointed in this meal as we thought we would support a local pub while we were in Waterford. Unfortunately would not recommend this pub to anyone for meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GailLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Shippes also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to The Three Shippes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing