We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$7.97*
and up
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The magnificent curved facade of the warm butter-coloured stone building draws in the visitor. The eye-catching giant sculpture on the gable was inspired by a tiny 13th century belt mount found in Waterford. It is Ireland’s only purpose-built medieval museum and the only building on the island to incorporate two medieval chambers, the 13th century Choristers’ Hall and the 15th century Mayor’s Wine Vault. Don't miss the stunning Heavens' Embroidered Cloths, Waterford's cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII's reign to survive in the world - the 'Cap of Maintenance' and the Great Charter Roll from 1373, containing the earliest contemporary portrait of a medieval English king (Edward III) shown to Queen Elizabeth on her 2011 state visit to Ireland. These and many more unique artefacts await you on your guided tour of the award wining Medieval Museum.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

There was a great selection of different things to see and learn about. I am huge history buff and loved to see the fun Tudor stuff there too! great place to learn! great atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tofulovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    158
    33
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the guided tour - it made the history come alive much more than simply walking around reading the labels on artifacts. There are so many things to see and our guide gave us a good summary of Waterford history in a way that was entertaining as well as educational. A very good introduction to this excellent collection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank February78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved the way our guide was dressed in period costume and was very knowledgeable about the displays we were shown. Our guide was also very friendly and responded well to questions asked. We were also impressed with they way many of the historical facts presented tied in with Bishops Palace. Loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Loved my visit to the Waterford Medieval Museum”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a day trip to Waterford with a friend we arrived on an early train and walked to the medieval musuem and were amazed at how interesting and fantastic it is. We purchased a ticket which got us into the musuem, the bishops palace and Reginald's tower for a very good price. All three places are well worth the visit. We also visited Waterford Glass & had a fantastic tour there too. Waterford exceed my expectations. I expected to enjoy my day there but I really loved the city, the people and the many interesting places there are to visit there and will hopefully return there soon for another exciting visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
331 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Brilliant museum”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here on a recent visit to Waterford. Out of the museums on offer we decided to stop in here out of what was on offer.

The museum was recently opened and a real surprise. We took advantage of the audio tour and this really added to the enjoyment and overall visit. Our son liked this too and it held his interest and aimed it at a great level for him. Lots to see and learn about in here with some rare and special artefacts.

Spent a lot longer in here than we thought we would and I would happily recommend a stop here when in Waterford.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GunnaEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing