We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel in Ireland's oldest city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The lobby and lounge were beautiful. The pool and workout areas are also quite nice. Rooms however felt dated. Watch your step getting in and out of the bathtub; I'm tall and it was a challenge; how many re-finishing inserts are there? In contrast to Killarney which was hopping till Midnight, nearly everything in Waterford closes at five. Even most pubs were empty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhamm0 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Waterford is indeed Ireland oldest city and there is a great calendar of events to celebration this special year in Waterford’s History. I am sorry that your visit did not coincide with our many festivals and events that certainly add to the vibrancy of the city.

I do hope you will return to Waterford again and get to experience the many hidden treasures that Waterford has to offer.

Kind Regards

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here recently with seven friends for 50th birthdays. Staff looked after us really well. Had dinner in restaurant it was excellent. Very central location.Great value 72.50 p/p dinner b/b.Would stay here again. Rooms very clean not luxurious but suited our needs. I think staff make this hotel they couldnt have been more helpful espeically restaurant and recepttion staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilywhite20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that your birthday celebration was enjoyable. I will pass on your kind words with regard to our staff. I know they will be delighted to hear that they made such a good impression on your group during your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tower again,

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. We booked a deal for B&B through a third party website. Having read some reviews prior to going we were a bit weary of getting a room near the air condition units so I rang to request that we didn't. Joan took my call and basically said we'd get what we paid for! Very professional - NOT! Don't put up an offer if you don't want people to take it up! Luckily we got a room with a nice enough view & was spotless, as was all of the hotel. The rest of the staff were friendly & helpful although the service for evening food was very very slow and the food average. The location is good and there is parking which is a bonus. All in all we would stay here again but it may not be our first choice and it is only worth it if it's on a package deal at the right price.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows as hotel ones are very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DS2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel faculties and that you found the team to be helpful and friendly. We appreciate your feedback both positive and negative and we will use it to continually monitor and improve where possible the services we offer.

I do hope you return to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently held our parents 50th Wedding Anniversay meal and party in the Dunmore Room at the Tower Hotel. From the momemt we arrived the staff went out of their way to make the event as special as possible, from the red carpet and champagne reception to the tasteful decoration of the party room and the excellent, attentive service. They went above and beyond our expectations and helped make it an night that will live in peoples memories for many years to come. We thank them for their efforts and would enthusiastically recommend the Tower for any private party or functions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind words. We are delighted that such a special family occasion was resounding success.

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and I do hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here on business-€89 B&B was good value. decent wifi, and average/small room at rear of the building with poor views. Very central location, late bar with decent music. There is a spa, which I didn't use, but the hotel was clean, pleasant receptionist and staff. Rooms to the front obviously have better views, but might be noisier. Would recommend for business, or overnight couples break

Room Tip: ask for street or river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndABoyForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with and am grateful for your recommendation for corporate and leisure stays.

I do hope you return to us again be it for business or pleasure and that you will get enjoy more of what the Hotel and Waterford city has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very nice hotel with nice spacious rooms. I was only there for one night and didn't use the leisure centre facilities but it looked good. The hotel was as good if not better than other 4 star hotels around Ireland which charge a lot more for the same. Breakfast had a large selection and service was great.
Location was ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durkashack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and we do look forward to looking after you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

As the title says faultless except for one thing. THE ROOMS NEED AIR CONDITIONING. This is why we give it 4 out of 5.

We arrived for a two night stay on june weekend ( sat/sun ). We were staying in one of the very nice smart rooms. Pretty much 4 star type room top to bottom.

We were there with a 2 night b&b package plus evening meal. On arrival reception also offered us an excellent 4 course meal offer for two plus a bottle of wine - all for €49. Excellent value.

We had the included meal the following night. Top marks on both nights to the restaurant and efficient, friendly staff.

The bar too is nice. Prices are not at all outrageous. Seemed to do good food also.

So onto the only critisism. NO AIR CONDITIONING. Now, you might not mind this on cold days of winter but its definitely an issue in these summer months. When we arrived to the room we were immediately greeted with wall of heat. Our room was on third floor at front of hotel late afternoon sun beaming through the window. Closing curtains did not cut down much in the heat either. Nor did the open window.

Being at the front of the hotel you are facing on to a main street so at night the window needs closing to stop noise. This means a very warm room throughout the night. For night two we had earplugs. Left the window open plus that day the sun did not show, rainy. Room still warm, stuffy.

On our way to checkout on the monday we were on way down the lift with other guests. Only talking in lift was the heat of the rooms. At reception another couple mentioned same.

So to management of the towers hotel in Waterford - You have a great offering, a great hotel experience all around but let down by no air conditioning. We hope you sort this going forward.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aidanodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thwmgmt, General Manager at Tower Hotel Waterford, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one our SMART rooms. We are very proud of these rooms and the little extras that they offer. Unfortunately, we don't have air-conditioning but we do have an ample supply of fans available on request.

I do hope you return to us again and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really means a lot when guests have such an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Alicia Maguire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing