We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower Hotel not really a 4 star... No hot water!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Castro Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tower Hotel not really a 4 star... No hot water!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Well let me start off with something good. It's in a great location, you can walk to everything. But, I think that about it.

A little over priced. The rooms need a makeover, they're dated. Bathroom in my room was large (room 232 very loud couldn't sleep) but you could can see some mould here and there. And by the time we got up at 7:30 am we had NO HOT WATER!!! For a hotel of this size to run out of hot water a 7:30 am is just silly. So, ended up going down to have breakfast before taking a shower. I spoke to the man at the front desk and he said that they were working on fixing the water. He asked if we would need more time... So I said, yes please. He gave us a 2:00 pm check out. But, when we got ack to our room at 1:00 pm we were already locked out of our room.

Overall not that great of a experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    341
    188
    91
    60
See reviews for
278
361
39
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent hotel - great location - right in the heart of Waterford. Within walking distance of shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. A few minutes drive from Waterford Castle. A great choice all round. All staff that we met during our stay were excellent and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors - as traffic can be noisy outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doylemary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent a few nights in this hotel recently . Really enjoyed it . Very central for restaurant,Bars and shopping. Free secure car parking at the back of hotel . Slept well as there was no noise at all . Lovely view of the river . Good atmosphere in the bar . Staff at reception very chatty and helpful. Fantastic value and will return soon .

Room Tip: Tray and get a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourfriends74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in Tower last weekend and everything was excellent. Lovely family room -333- for Me, my better half and our two children (9 and 7). Couldnt fault anything. Lovely meal in bar on Friday evening served promptly by a very friendly waitress who to my sons delight was a wrestling fan! Breakfast excellent on both mornings and a lovely residents area to enjoy a few drinks on saturday evening. Hope to get back soon. Perfect base to explore a great city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudeboyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Food in dining room was lovely, and nice choice on the menu. Great selection of breakfast. Central hotel, so handy for shopping and touriing waterford etc. Rooms on the first foor are a joke. Very small. beds very very uncomfortable and far to low.. I had to sleep at end of bed, I really would not call it sleep, my back suffered on account of this.Just one good point, in the bedroom is a mirror and hairdryer on the dresser. Great idea. Hotel very busy with familys etc. Nice size swimming pool with all amenties. One of my girlfriends had a lovely massage in the Tower.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 1st floor, unless you are goin to be out partying all night, so bed wont m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Free parking adjacent to hotel,staff very helpfull,the meal I had in the restaurant was one of the best I've ever had the nicest sea bass I've ever had. The bad points the bed was uncomfortable and the room was very small considering the star rating, no bath and getting into the toilet door was a squeeze. If it wasn't for the food I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good position in the city, parking is free and quite large. The rooms are spacious and modern. It was noisy one night due to rain but I forgot the window open. Breakfast is mainly Irish type but all was good. Appreciated also the gym, quite small but enough for a short travel. I will not change it next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank drizz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing