We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dooleys Hotel, Waterford City, Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dooleys Hotel, Waterford City, Ireland”
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Avoid this hotel, they charge for everything, internet and parking, the rooms are crap and so is the food. There are better hotels in town, try The Grenville one hundred times better. Trust me I have stayed in a lot of hotels.

Helpful?
2 Thank paul365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    406
    176
    53
    40
See reviews for
236
441
44
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiladre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed in Dooleys Hotel in September and recieved the worst customer service i have ever encountered. My fiance and i were staying here with a hotel points voucher for a weekend stay €98 a night and one evening meal. We were so disgusted with the way we were treated that we checked out on Saturday and didnt stay the full weekend.
We were highly embaressed when having our meal as thay did not understand the dinner voucher and kept coming over to us while having our meal and asking us if we were staying in the hotel. We were treated like 2 people 'off the street' looking for a free meal.
I asked for a room with a view and got a tiny room overlooking a roof with very loud fans going all night. The food was not up to scratch either.
When we were checking out the manager Michael Collins was so ignorent and didnt offer us any incentive to stay.
I sent a letter of complaint to the owner Margaret Darrer and she did nothing for me only an appolgie which i felt was not good enough.
Maybe i was just one of the unlucky ones in this hotel as i seems to get good reviews but i definatly wont be staying here again!!!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank ellerkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed here while attending a wedding. The hotel is located on the main road right beside the river and is within walking distance of anywhere in the city. The staff in reception were friendl enough and we got checked in without any problems.
We were in a smoking room (which was brilliant as they are rare these days) and the room was a decent size.
It would be fair to say that the room was quite dated but I actually liked it. The breakfast which is included in the room price was good i.e. plenty of variety and tasted good too!
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, but if anyone is lookin for a modern hotel this is not for you.

  • Liked — a big breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. I had read mixed reports so went straight up to check the allocated room. Was well appointed and clean . We had a room on the front and the road is extremely noisy. There is no air conditioning but I could not have slept with the window open. There is a crossing immediaately outside too and on the main route, it seems, for emergency vehicles.

Very helpful and friendly staff. Quiet lounge area near reception.
They have an Irish Show one night each week. we did not go but others enjoyed it. Didn't try the food but people said OK. hard to find somewhere local to eat though. We ended up somewher just because we needed a meal.
Hotel was fine and overlooked the river estuary.

Suggest people specify a quiet room required.

  • Liked — quiet lounge area
  • Disliked — noisy road and no air conditioning.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR26June2014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Our stay in this hotel was an experience in terrible service from start to out early check out.....
Firstly when the key cards did not work and we alerted reception they asked had we gone to the wrong room and made a big fuss over activating them!
30 mins after checking in a staff member came into the room, without knocking! She said "Oh I am just checking has the plumber been in.." and proceeded to head into the bathroom...then came out and said "Yeah he was, bye..." No apologies for the interruption or the fact she didn't knock.
The room was very dated, as is the hotel, and the bathroom is very old fashioned and not even fully tiled, with an old white shower curtain. The bathroom reminded me of your Granny's house, 1950's style!!
Next morning we were told upon arriving at breakfast to join a table with some strangers as there were no tables for two! I asked what about those tables as I could see two tables for two free but I was told "Oh someone is waiting for them"....Noone sat there the whole time we ate! We actually found another free table and then got cutlery off another table and set the table ourselves. Why would a couple away together want to eat breakfast with strangers?
After breakfast we went back to our room and then came the final straw....... at 11 am on a Sat morning another staff member came on into the room, let herself in and said "Oh is everything alright?" We were completely in shock, undressed and wondering were we dreaming??? We answered "Apart from the interuptions" and she just headed off, no explanation as to why she came in. Surely we would have rang reception if we had a problem. Also she could have rang our room rather than let herself in?! This made us wonder whether they were in and out of the room when we weren't there? We were disgusted with the lack of privacy and the bad service and went down to check out a day early. The receptionist was not apologetic and didn't seem to care we were leaving early and offered no explanation as to the visitor in our room that morning.
So overall this hotel needs to seriously look at the service it provides. For somewhere so dated and shabby it would want to make up for that in service, which it doesn't. A Boutique Hotel it ain't......

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Complete lack of privacy and unannounced staff coming into the bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fizzelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This is an older hotel and it shows but the rooms were clean. the food at the bar was ok but a bit over priced.
The hotel is in a nice area and you can walk to shopping.
The downside is that the hotel is so old and that the do not have parking. the only parking is pay parking across the street.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoidberg-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

A great boutique hotel.

We stayed there for a long weekend with another couple.

I have to sa, the staff were excellent. extreely friendly & couldn't do enough for us.

The Bar has a great atmosphere & the restaurant s very reasonably priced with a great menu.

The Rooms are spacious & really clean.

It is right on the river 2 mins from the train sation, the bus stops outside & it is a 5 minute walk to the town centre.

Defintly reccomend for a weekend break!

  • Liked — Room, Location, Bar, Staff
  • Disliked — Beleive it or not; Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mclaren1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
1,129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing