We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run and do not stop til you're far from here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Run and do not stop til you're far from here!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room was very small, beds in need of repair, and it smelled like seafood chowder all the time! Three floors of rooms, and only one elevator. Rude dining room manager pulled me aside in the lobby of the dining room in front of everyone when I was leaving after dinner, claiming I hadn't paid for my meal. I had already taken care of the bill with my waitress and even had left her a tip for her friendly and prompt service. Very unprofessional, he should've checked with her first if he had any doubts. I don't mind staying at a quaint hotel, but this was far beneath the standards of every other place that CIE Tours had booked us into. After a long day of touring the Titanic Experience and the Waterford Crystal factory, I really was in need of some TLC, and was disappointed to find none after checking into Dooley's. :(

Room Tip: there is no AC in this hotel, and it was a very warm evening. I asked for a fan, and was given one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    397
    171
    53
    39
See reviews for
227
431
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was part of an Insight Vacations Britain & Ireland Explorer Tour and we only spend a night here, but it was just AWFUL! Dirty rooms, Outdated baths, Smelly maze-like hallways, Horrible beds. Avoid!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilynW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived in Waterford late in the evening with our 20month old daughter and decided to pop in here for dinner. Overall it was only ok. I got the lemon and thyme chicken, it wasnt nice at all, quite a let down. The lemon was too over powering, We didnt bother staying for deserts. The one thing I would say is the kids menu is very good, my daughter got stew with some mash. Nice to go somewhere different with healthy hearty meals for toddlers, not the usual sausie and chips crap!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My farther and I stayed at the Dooley's hotel which is perfectly situated on the river front right opposite the bus station. We were on a family heritage tour of Ireland rediscoverying our ancestry and this was the 2nd hotel we stayed at. The staff were super freindly, and checkin took a matter of seconds. The downside was the twin room we stayed in, which was rarther old and stuffy, with no aircon (during the heatwave in July 2013). The bathroom also had no extractor fan, which meant the whole place became steamed up after using the shower. Breakfast was also a bit so-so, with a low budget help yourself to the buckets of scrambled egg sort of feel to it. One really nice surprise however was the discovery of a room full of local people doing irish dancing. This was not a tourist event, just real Waterford folk out for a night of fun and jigs! Overall, not that bad really, and may actually be quite nice to visit...in the winter!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, since our room just overlooked a shed and a wall of other wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

very old fashioned room but it was clean and the bed was nice & comfortable. floorboards were slightly creaky though. Television in the room had picture but no sound on most of the channels. food in the restaurant was beautiful although the staff in there werent friendly at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wexgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good hotel and great room overlooking the quay. Stayed for the annual Spraoi and for our anniversary and we were obviously put in an extra nice room with an anniversary card! Room was spacious and had all facilities we needed. Breakfast was okay, nothing special and a bit disappointed that a traditional Irish breakfast wasn't on offer. Overall a perfectly good stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 94 overlooking the quay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the classic tour company hotels in Ireland. It has limited towel service, limited pillows, no safe in the room and it has no air conditioning. If the weather is warm, you need to open the windows to cool the room down. There is not even a clock in the room and the TV is approximately 19 inches.

The Internet is only 4 euros for 24 hours access and the hotel pub is decent. The positives are the hotel is close to many stores and restaurants and the hotel food is also quite good. Not a bad hotel, but it is not 4 star so I could not rate it higher.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooley's Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Property: Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing